Leftover Meatloaf Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made a few small changes. I eliminated the can of cream of chicken and added a half cup of milk or so to make a thinner sauce. I did not add the seasoning salt because the cream of mushroom soup was salty enough on it's own. I did cube up the leftover meatloaf and folded it into the sauce ingredients and I used Crispy Crowns instead of tater tots. I DID NOT TRY THIS MYSELF--but my three boys ate the whole thing in one sitting. My husband is STILL talking about this almost a week later. I thought it was pretty amazing because a) this used leftover meatloaf in a new way and b) this recipe called for all ingredients I had on hand. Thumbs up from our family, I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe as did my husband. I cut it down to half the recipe as it was just the two of us and only used a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also put on more cheese because we only had medium cheddar. I am going to be making this again but will add more onion and maybe some garlic. I am also going to try this with Tuna in place of the meatloaf. This recipe could be very versatile I think with other meats or even without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
A good stick to your ribs meal and a great way to use up those bits of bags of hash browns, tator tots and frozen veggies. I did make a couple of changes just to lighten it up. I used used 98% fat free soup, a splash of milk and topped it with fat free cheddar cheese when it came out of oven. No difference in taste or texture. I did cover it with foil to cook, just to keep it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
It's ok! We didnt liked it that much... Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambergerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Even my pretty picky husband liked this. The only thing different I did was put just a bit of cheese on each piece of meatloaf at the beginning so it wouldn't dry out, then 5 minutes before it was done I added the rest so it would melt right before serving. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Yummy! What a great way to make another meal. I did add cheese in the beginning of baking & covered with foil while it baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was excellent! We used frozen hashbrowns instead of tater tots and it worked perfectly. The only negative was that we had to cook it twice as long for it to be hot in the middle. But the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Overall not a bad recipe. All the ingredients are well liked in the house hold however, the family didn't vote this one as a keeper. I think country style hash browns instead of tater tots might have made for a more moist consistency. *I might sneak this one back in the menu with a few adjustment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Hey, that was surprisingly good! I halved the recipe and it was the perfect size for the 4 of us. I didnt use the cream of chicken or onion as I had niether. Cut the meatloaf 3/4 inch thick for substance, used the whole 12oz package of seasoned asian vegatables (thus eliminated most of the season salt) as their arent near enough veggies in this dish,Cooked as directed.YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T, as I had leftover meatloaf and tater tots to "take care of." It was delightfully tasty (for me, my husband and the kids), and put a new twist on those ingredients so that it didn't taste like leftovers at all. The only thing I may alter next time is the cooking time. I only needed to cook it for about 35 minutes total, as the cheese got too hard on top. Note: This is also a heavier meal, so serve it up with some light side items like salad or apple sauce, etc. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitsofwhitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athens, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States