Leftover Ham and Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
As one who regularly makes stir fries and fried rice, this was an odd attempt to create something in the middle. As long as you're using a wok pan, why not stir fry the vegetables instead of simmering them for 15 minutes (which will leave them half done). Four cups of ham for that amount of vegetables is ridiculous. I used half and it was still plenty. The addition of two eggs in this concoction gave no advantage to the dish. The vegetables chosen fit somewhat with the ham, but the wok, soy sauce, rice and egg showed an attempt to do something Oriental, and it failed, given that it was more like a church supper casserole. I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Ok so good way to use up leftovers but there was absolutely no flavor. Needs some spices or a different sauce. It basically is a very bland stir fry. I have no idea why the eggs were included
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a very tasty meal. I would have liked to rate it 4.5 stars - but not an option. The only thing I will do differently the next time is to use fresh blanched green beans rather than canned beans. A great recipe to use up leftover ham and I had a bunch of broccoli to use also. This was an attractive dish to serve with all of the vibrant colors. We had it over sticky white rice. Thanks Ruth of sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was scrumptious! We cut back on veggies and it was still enough to serve 6! WE also mixed the eggs and added with the rest of the liquid ingredients. No need to scramble eggs separately. Did not taste like left-overs, tasted like a yummy dish! will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Carole and I ate this one noe. It must have been okay because we ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was pretty good. You do have to watch the amount of salt, would be best to use low sodium soy sauce in this recipe. Mine came out just ok, any more salt and I wouldn't have eaten it. Apart from this, it's a good recipe, and can easy adjust to use the veges you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I enjoyed, the husband did not. Nothing too special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is wonderful. It tasted even better the following day. Next time, I'll add a dash or two of Tabasco to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Nothing negative to say about this. I cleaned out the leftover veggies and added snow peas. It was very tasty! I feel like it may be good with pineapple added. Has anyone tried that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I was pleasantly suprised by how good this recipe was. I thought it may come out too dry but it did not and was very good. Even my picky husband really liked it. The only additions I made was to add fresh mushrooms, celery and snow peas (instead of frozen peas). This recipe will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States