Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Made this with Easter ham from a week ago. - Oh what to do with all that left over ham. Made this and was skeptical. My family loved it - and they are very finikey. Yum! Clean plates - everyone loved it! Thank you. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Ultimate decadent comfort food! Too bad I only have leftover ham about twice/year! This recipe is basically the same as my au gratin potato recipe with the exception of adding the ham and cubing instead of slicing the potatoes. Also used a combo of sharp and extra-sharp cheddar cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was a very tasty and hearty meal!! I was looking for a recipe to use for leftover ham and this one is a keeper! It's quick and easy and my fiance loved it. The only thing I changed was that I added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and some green beans. Thanks for the recipe! *Update* I had this next day and added salt to it and it was PERFECT! I thought the ham would be salty enough and didn't want to oversalt it...I was wrong. Add extra salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikishep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We tried this last night and I wish I had taken a photo to post bc it looked great. Slight changes just to speed it up. We used 2 cans of canned diced potatoes and a can of peas. It was delicious and very easy. Great way to use leftover ham. Worth a try. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was really good. I didn't boil the potatoes, I just cubed them and fried them in a skillet with some oil, diced onions, diced peppers, some garlic and a splash or two of chicken broth. Of course, I added salt and pepper to taste. Once the potatoes started to soften I mixed in the cubed ham. When it was done I put it in the casserole dish and topped it with the cheese sauce and breadcrumbs and popped it in the oven. The only thing I would do differently next time is omit the breadcrumbs. I didn't feel like they added anything to the dish and, in the 25 minutes the dish was in the oven, they didn't really brown. So, it was like I just had raw breadcrumbs on top soaking up the cheese sauce. Other than that I will surely be making this again. It was a great use for leftover ham and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I had some ham leftover from Thanksgiving and I made this for dinner tonight. It was very good. Even my husband had seconds on this. I will be making this again when I have lefto over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crank39
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this recipe with adding crushed red pepper as the only tweak. I found that 1/4 cup bread crumbs were quite generous. I added a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
omg! this was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this with leftover ham and veges from thanksgiving dinner. My husband is an avid casserole hater and he went back for seconds. He said he really liked this! I added some celery, carrots, red and green peppers that were left over from our relish tray. I boiled the celery and carrots with the potato and sautéed the peppers with the onion. A very tasty one dish meal! All I had for bread crumbs were Italian panko crumbs, but they added a nice flavor. Enough left over for lunch tomorrow. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe was great and utilized a few things that would have gone bad if I didn't use them soon (namely ham and potatoes). The only thing I did differently was add a bit more flavor for fear of my toddler not liking it. She definitely loves her spices. I added a bit of garlic powder and chili powder to the ham and onions as they were cooking. And I sprinkled on crushed rosemary before the bread crumbs. My whole house smells like rosemary potatoes (YUM!) and the taste is phenomenal. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States