Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I used leftovers from a rotisserie chicken, this tasted awesome! I served it over biscuits. I did add a little extra cornstarch just to make sure it thickened up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I don't have much luck with corn starch, so judge this review accordingly. This was a complete disaster - it burned before it thickened and was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Enjoyed the recipe very much. Quick, easy and a great way to use a small amount of leftover chicken. I did use a little more cornstarch than called for to thicken it. My husband asked for his over rice and cleaned his plate while I spooned mine over cresent rolls. Good on a cold evening! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Had lots of KFC chix left over and needed a quick filling supper for the family. Adding the wine (actually didn't need much at all) gave the sauce a great flavor. I also used quite a bit of corn with peas and carrots. The corn added a crunchy texture to what would have been a "mushy" meal when I mixed it with noodles. Everyone liked the dish...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spar97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The previous reviewers suggestions to add spices and more cornstarch were helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very good! A great way to use up my leftover chicken! I added the curry, chili powder, paparika and ground cumin that someone else mentioned and it was really great!! I did add 1 TBS of cornstarch instead of 2 TSP (it's only 1 TSP more) it seemed to help thicken it up better. I served it over rice but I think it would be great over potatoes too!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I just made this using leftover turkey roast and peas. We had it over rice. Everyone liked it, which is quite an accomplishment considering we are a family of eight! I did have to more than double the amount of cornstarch, but eventually it thickened. Thanks for a new "regular" for a large, fussy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
One thing I notice is that there's no mention of bringing the mixture to a boil after adding the cornstarch. This may be why some people haven't been able to get the gravy to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
My husband loved it! He is very picky on food and he just really loved this recipe. He ask me to make this once in awhile whenever I make chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was really tasty!! I have always made a roux and added milk for a white sauce in the past, but this was more flavorful with the chicken stock added. Be careful not to over use the cornstarch thickening agent; if you do, you shoud start with a larger can of evaporated milk. This was easy and fast, and my hubbie said to make this again! Served over big biscuits. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States