Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Good concept but way too thin, even when I doubled the cornstarch. Next time I will go back to my old stand-by - making a roux first with 4 tablespoons butter, 4 tablespoons flour and 2 cups of mixed milk and chicken broth. By the way, when you make anything with leftover chicken, it's good to add sage and parsley - just seems to fit really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent meal on a cold day. Followed the recipe exactly as written. The only problem was eating too much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was tasty, but very thin. I tried adding more cornstarch, still thin. I served it on biscuits. This would have bee very good if it thickened. I also think it could use some cooked onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
this is a great use for leftover chix/turkey here's my add on, add more cornstarch to really thicken then with 2 store bought pie crusts pour it into one and top with the other for instant chicken pot pie! yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good! Added some of Emeril's Bam for seasoning. Poured this over rice, and the pot did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was ok, a little bland and I had to add 3 tsp. more cornstarch to make it thicker otherwise it would be way too runny. But it is a great recipe when you want a quick meal and don't feel like making a mess (only uses 1 saucepan and 1 small bowl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
very good. Both my husband and I enjoyed this thoroughly. I needed a recipe that was quick and this fit bill very well. The veggies I used were peas and corn. I had individual pie shells in the freezer which I baked and placed over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm actually rating this before eating it, but it sure looks good. I doubled the receipe (since I had more than 1 cup of chicken left over) and only added about 2 teas. of extra cornstarch. I made sure it came to a boil as someone had mentioned and then let it thicken as it sat on low. Served it over the large buscuits. Had plenty for left overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMHPAL2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Used the remains of my slow-cooker chicken (used in chicken noodle soup), and used a 12 oz can of evap milk (who has a 5 oz size on hand?!?) with about 2 TBSP cornstarch to accomodate the extra liquid. Even with that, it still seemed thin. Maybe I didn't let it cool long enough?? It was "thick" b/c of all the chicken/veggies I had in it. Tasted fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! Great recipe!!!! Used all of the ingredients listed, and it was fantastic. Better than Fanny Farmer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States