Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I usually use quite a bit more conrstarch and instead of low heat stirring constantly, I've found that med-low heat and stirring occasionally thickens it up better. I always serve over pastry shells, I tried it once over rice and it just wasn't the same! Quick, easy and tasty, base recipe but even better with some spices. This is a staple for our household and now I finally use my leftover chicken instead of tossing it out 2 weeks later! Most recently, I used my leftover chicken from 'crumb-coated chicken thighs' (on this site) and the seasoning made it OUTSTANDING. I was a little leary at first that it would be too much, but it wasn't. Yum, yum, yum!! If you have plain leftover chicken, try 1/4 tsp each of ground cumin, paprika, chili powder and curry powder for starters. Stir the spices in when you add the chicken its really good stuff! Never any leftovers of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzball420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. To try something different to mine, I added the left over gravy and 1 cup of grated cheese and baked it anddd then served it over egg noodles. YUMMMMMM GOOD FOOD SANDY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I had high hopes for this one, and the flavor was really quite good. However, I "stirred constantly" for 25 minutes and it never thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe. It was a nice warm meal on a cold day. The only changes I made were to add a few more veggies. I recommend and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
To make my life easier, i used leftover bbq'd chix, 1 can cr. chix soup, sauteed mushroom's in butter, salt, pepper, seasoned salt and thyme served over egg noodles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This was very easy and good. Even my picky 8 year old loved it. I used frozen corn rather than the mixed vegs that none of my kids will eat. I also used a little over a tablespoon of cornstarch to make sure it thickened. Thanks, Sandy, for a new and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HPITTS
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good! I tend to eye rather than measure, so I may not have added the amounts exactly, but this was delicious! I served it over homemade buttermilk biscuts. I used a combination of chicken stock and white wine for the base and added about 1/3 cup of frozen onion seasoning mix and a pinch of garlic powder and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Illinois, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I gave this a 5 based on it's ease and use of leftovers. I made this with a few changes however. I'm sure as is, it's a tasty as can be but I don't like canned milk or cornstarch. Thusly, I started with a little over two cups of cut up left over roast chicken, into the big fry pan with that along with two cups of chicken broth, about a cup of last nights leftover wild rice and another 1/2 cup of leftover green beans and another cup of mixed frozen veggies, got that to simmerin like it says. From there in another pot, I made a simple bechamel using 2 tbsp butter, 3 tbsp flour and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of cream. That thickened up immediately and I added it to the chicken mixture. Served it with baking powder biscuits and it was a great warm yummy leftover dinner. Of note, I added absolutley zero seasoning but it could use some pepper. With the butter and cream this goes about 180 calories per serving not including the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was ok, a little bland and I had to add 3 tsp. more cornstarch to make it thicker otherwise it would be way too runny. But it is a great recipe when you want a quick meal and don't feel like making a mess (only uses 1 saucepan and 1 small bowl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
One thing I notice is that there's no mention of bringing the mixture to a boil after adding the cornstarch. This may be why some people haven't been able to get the gravy to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States