Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was tasty, but very thin. I tried adding more cornstarch, still thin. I served it on biscuits. This would have bee very good if it thickened. I also think it could use some cooked onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
this is a great use for leftover chix/turkey here's my add on, add more cornstarch to really thicken then with 2 store bought pie crusts pour it into one and top with the other for instant chicken pot pie! yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good! Added some of Emeril's Bam for seasoning. Poured this over rice, and the pot did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was ok, a little bland and I had to add 3 tsp. more cornstarch to make it thicker otherwise it would be way too runny. But it is a great recipe when you want a quick meal and don't feel like making a mess (only uses 1 saucepan and 1 small bowl)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
very good. Both my husband and I enjoyed this thoroughly. I needed a recipe that was quick and this fit bill very well. The veggies I used were peas and corn. I had individual pie shells in the freezer which I baked and placed over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm actually rating this before eating it, but it sure looks good. I doubled the receipe (since I had more than 1 cup of chicken left over) and only added about 2 teas. of extra cornstarch. I made sure it came to a boil as someone had mentioned and then let it thicken as it sat on low. Served it over the large buscuits. Had plenty for left overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMHPAL2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Used the remains of my slow-cooker chicken (used in chicken noodle soup), and used a 12 oz can of evap milk (who has a 5 oz size on hand?!?) with about 2 TBSP cornstarch to accomodate the extra liquid. Even with that, it still seemed thin. Maybe I didn't let it cool long enough?? It was "thick" b/c of all the chicken/veggies I had in it. Tasted fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! Great recipe!!!! Used all of the ingredients listed, and it was fantastic. Better than Fanny Farmer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't like the evaporated milk in this. It would have been much better had I gone with my insticts and made a white sauce with butter, flour and fresh milk which thickens well and tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I thought this went over very well! I used 1 cup chicken broth, 1/4 cup white cooking wine and 1/4 cup water. I used probably a TBSP of cornstarch, but at the very end, when it still wasn't thickening, I removed about 2 TBSP of the liquid and added a tiny bit of flour to make a paste. When I added it back in it thickened up nicely. I added various spices that we like, served it over rice, and everyone ate a bunch! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States