Leftover Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Didn't care for it. Too heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Briarcliff Manor, New York, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
We loved it! :) Added (as other reviewer suggested), 1/4 tsp. cumin, paprika, and curry - then threw in a packet of adobo. Family said it was "southwestern chicken a la king." Served over fresh open biscuits. Its a winner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
We both loved this.I didn't have any canned milk so I just used 5 ozs of milk.Next time I plan on adding more milk and a little less broth.This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I loved this, and surprisingly my husband did too. Since I had way more than the one cup of chicken and my cans of broth and evaporated milk were also larger then amount called for I doubled the recipe. Served over toast the first night - then the 2nd night I used what was left to make a pot pie. Used frozen pie crusts, peeled and diced a couple potatoes and boiled them until tender. After draining potatoes well, put them in the bottom of the pie crust then poured a la king mixture on top, then put top crust on and sealed and baked for 30 min @ 400 degress F. It came out golden brown. I let this set for about 20 min before cutting into it. It sliced beautifully... not too runny, not too dry. And just like that... We had a new favorite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
After reading some of the other reviews I knew to add extra corn starch and added some spices but it turned out excellent. thanks, it is easy and an outstanding dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great served with biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I gave this a 5 based on it's ease and use of leftovers. I made this with a few changes however. I'm sure as is, it's a tasty as can be but I don't like canned milk or cornstarch. Thusly, I started with a little over two cups of cut up left over roast chicken, into the big fry pan with that along with two cups of chicken broth, about a cup of last nights leftover wild rice and another 1/2 cup of leftover green beans and another cup of mixed frozen veggies, got that to simmerin like it says. From there in another pot, I made a simple bechamel using 2 tbsp butter, 3 tbsp flour and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of cream. That thickened up immediately and I added it to the chicken mixture. Served it with baking powder biscuits and it was a great warm yummy leftover dinner. Of note, I added absolutley zero seasoning but it could use some pepper. With the butter and cream this goes about 180 calories per serving not including the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great way to use left-over chicken. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used some homo instead and it was fine. I also added some worcestershire sauce for flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very easy & tasty. I did use fresh carrots, celery, and frozen corn as a substitute, which was very good. I like to use fresh if I have the time. I ended up adding more cornstarch as well...just mixed a little with a small amount of cold water & added to mixture. Would also work great as a chicken potpie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This came out soooo good!! I had leftover pieces of KFC so I pulled and diced the meat. Then used frozen corn,canned diced potatoes and canned carrots. Also added a touch of nutmeg and sage. I had no problemwith the consistency, maybe due to using canned veges. Served over grands biscuits. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States