Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a good recipe for leftovers..however, they were a little too dry for me. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were FANTASTIC! I read through a lot of reviews before making them and combined some of the ideas. I'll save you the time here... You definitely want to sautee the onions, it makes a big difference. Combine the sauteed onions and leftover chicken in the food processor, it will improve the texture and help the patties stay together. I used savory herb stuffing in place of the bread crumbs. I also added fresh parmesan cheese, oregano, basil, and some garlic powder. My mix was a little dry at this point so I added some chicken stock. Here is the key...Mix all of the ingredients together EXCEPT FOR THE EGG!!! TASTE IT! If it doesn't taste good at this point, it won't taste any better when you cook it:) Season it until it tastes good, then add the eggs. I baked mine on a cookie sheet at 350 until they were golden brown(about 20 minutes). Thanks for a great recipe and thank you to all of the reviewers before me for their tweaks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Made this dish & wish I had read the other comments first. Next time I will use some of the other idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Have made these a number of times and they are always good. Each time, I vary it according to what's on hand and what I feel like adding. Just tonight, I mashed a cooked potato into it, used panko instead of seasoned bread crumbs, added Parmesan, Sriracha and Worcestershire sauce and left out the salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labradors

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: La Ceiba, Atlántida, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent. I added some slivered almonds, onion and mozzerella cheese. This makes a lot of croquettes. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Really yummy. I found that if I put the patties in my George Foreman and grill them, they are even better than frying. The croquettes are not greasy that way, but not dry either. They are totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
What a great recipe. I was out of breadcrumbs so I used finely crushed Peppridge Farm stuffing. I sauteed a little celery and poultry seasoning with the onion. I used the 3rd egg and a splash of 1/2 and 1/2. It really helps to read the reviews before you make the recipe, as other good cooks have already tried and tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
We loved them!! I had some leftover chhicken and a can of chicken, I used both to make my 3 cups. I ended up using 3 eggs with a little milk also. I didn't have any onion, but I had some french fried onions that I added in. I made a little gravy to go on them too. GREAT way to use left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
GOOD STARTING POINT for your own ideas. Use the chicken, breadcrumbs and eggs as your base. Add any veggies, spices or herbs you like. I have a 2yr old and a 9yr old so for them I drop the onions and parsley and just add fresh chopped cilantro, salt and pepper. MEAT GRINDER IDEA: If you have a meat grinder put some of the leftover chicken through then add the bread crumbs, eggs and herbs. Leave some chicken to put through at the end to clear out the grinder pipe. Don't want it dry? Always add another egg if you think it's too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
As others have said, a great basic recipe! I doctored it a bit, in part because I didn't have seasoned bread crumbs, and also because of previous reviews mentioning these were a bit bland. Nothing big--threw a generous amount of Italian seasoning in with the bread crumbs, and sauteed some garlic & celery along with the chopped onion. Definitely needed 3 eggs and I used a bit of milk along with. Made the patties a bit thin (per review that said they didn't cook all the way thru)--so I ended up with approx 10 patties total. This turned out well! My husband loved it, asked me to be sure to keep this recipe! He ate 4 patties for dinner and took leftovers with him for lunch today!! Thank you, Jeanne, for a def "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYD2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States