Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was afraid the patties would be dry, so I made a cream sauce to go over it and my husband loved it. The leftover chicken had been marinated in Dale's sauce (a soy based marinade, yummy) so I added a little ginger to the cream sauce and it was a nice enhancement. I used heavy cream, chicken broth, salt, pepper, and the ginger and whisked it over medium heat, added a little flour for thickening. This was a fun, new way to serve leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Didn't turn out how I thought they would, I was expecting more flavor just not as tasty as I thought they would be.The family wouldn't finish them so I will probably have to pass on making these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a wonderfully easy, fast recipe, but I would have to agree with other reviewers that it definitely needs seasoning up quite a bit. It's a good base recipe that will be fun to experiment with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. I have used it several times, adding or changing things as needed. Last time I used crushed saltines as I didn't have bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was ok. The recipe as it stands is a little bland, as the others have said -perhaps if your chicken was marinated or well-seasoned this would be avoided. Personally I might include some corn for a sweeter flavour next time, or capsicum like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nina
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These are great! I did add a few spices like garlic and onion powder, but they would have been just great with out it. My 7 year old took a left over patty for lunch and her friends told her it didn't smell good, but she said it tasted good. I think they are even better with a little reduced fat ranch on top. My boyfriend likes them as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a great idea for leftover chicken. I spiced it up a bit for my tastebuds by adding sundried tomatoes, pepperoni, and oregano. I added plenty of eggs and let sit overnight. The patties stayed together nicely when frying. The trick is to shred the meat, do not chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
delicious recipe added parm cheese will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great base recipe. You can put whatever you like in it. I like more texture so instead of a fine chop I just loosely shredded my leftover rotisserie chicken meat. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and 3 eggs. I cut down on the minced onion to 1/4 cup, and added chives, green onion, plus freshly chopped tomato. Definitely add cheese if you can--it makes a difference. I added 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese and fat chunks of provolone cheese. I made them into little crab cake sized patties and lightly fried them. The boyfriend loves theses, especially the cheesey bites. Maybe I'll try adding ham or bacon too next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I just made this tonight and LOVED it. I thought I had bought parsley, but it ended up that I grabbed the orangno. It was great EVEN with the addition of oragno. Wonderful recipe. My husband and I are snacking on this as I type :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TessaAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States