Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I really wanted to like these. The texture was very dry, even after adding two extra eggs and extra onion. They also required a LOT of fat in which to brown them. We served them with chicken gravy otherwise they would have been way too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
We thought these patties were wonderful. We followed the recipe, with the addition of some parmesan cheese, hot sauce and some leftover corn "off" the cob we had from last nite's dinner. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I would actually give this 3 1/2 stars. This is a very basic recipe, something to build upon. I too found it bland but I know my family will love it. I think to perk it up you could try the following: Add an envelope of dry ranch dressing mix and omit the salt Add an envelope of Italian dressing mix and omit salt Add some salsa and some fresh cilantro Add a little sour cream and some fresh chopped chives And I'm an amateur I used fresh bread crumb and ran everything through the food processor. Very easy that way. There's a lot you could do with the recipe. Thanks for posting this. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was afraid the patties would be dry, so I made a cream sauce to go over it and my husband loved it. The leftover chicken had been marinated in Dale's sauce (a soy based marinade, yummy) so I added a little ginger to the cream sauce and it was a nice enhancement. I used heavy cream, chicken broth, salt, pepper, and the ginger and whisked it over medium heat, added a little flour for thickening. This was a fun, new way to serve leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Didn't turn out how I thought they would, I was expecting more flavor just not as tasty as I thought they would be.The family wouldn't finish them so I will probably have to pass on making these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a wonderfully easy, fast recipe, but I would have to agree with other reviewers that it definitely needs seasoning up quite a bit. It's a good base recipe that will be fun to experiment with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. I have used it several times, adding or changing things as needed. Last time I used crushed saltines as I didn't have bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was ok. The recipe as it stands is a little bland, as the others have said -perhaps if your chicken was marinated or well-seasoned this would be avoided. Personally I might include some corn for a sweeter flavour next time, or capsicum like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nina
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These are great! I did add a few spices like garlic and onion powder, but they would have been just great with out it. My 7 year old took a left over patty for lunch and her friends told her it didn't smell good, but she said it tasted good. I think they are even better with a little reduced fat ranch on top. My boyfriend likes them as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a great idea for leftover chicken. I spiced it up a bit for my tastebuds by adding sundried tomatoes, pepperoni, and oregano. I added plenty of eggs and let sit overnight. The patties stayed together nicely when frying. The trick is to shred the meat, do not chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States