Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. Here is how I tweaked it, and they turned out wonderful! Mince all ingredients to make the patties form well. I also did not add any salt. Saute 1 large onion, 2 large crushed cloves garlic, 1 large red sweet pepper; in 2 TBL grape seed oil. Cool Mix chicken with the bread crumbs. Add the sauted veggies and include: 1TBL basil, 1Tsp cilantro, 1/3 Cup finely grated parmesean cheese, 1-2 tsp habenaro hot sauce, and 1-2 TBL worchestershire sauce. Add 3 eggs slightly beaten. Form small patties and place on cookie sheet greased with canola oil spray. Bake 12 minutes at 350 degrees. (30 minutes is way too long, will dry them out) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were FANTASTIC! I read through a lot of reviews before making them and combined some of the ideas. I'll save you the time here... You definitely want to sautee the onions, it makes a big difference. Combine the sauteed onions and leftover chicken in the food processor, it will improve the texture and help the patties stay together. I used savory herb stuffing in place of the bread crumbs. I also added fresh parmesan cheese, oregano, basil, and some garlic powder. My mix was a little dry at this point so I added some chicken stock. Here is the key...Mix all of the ingredients together EXCEPT FOR THE EGG!!! TASTE IT! If it doesn't taste good at this point, it won't taste any better when you cook it:) Season it until it tastes good, then add the eggs. I baked mine on a cookie sheet at 350 until they were golden brown(about 20 minutes). Thanks for a great recipe and thank you to all of the reviewers before me for their tweaks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe is a good starter, but it can become fabulous with a bit of tweaking. Here’s what I did to add a bit more flavor and much more moisture. To enhance the flavor, I added a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, and a dash or two of cayenne pepper to the chicken mixture. To add moisture to the croquettes, I decreased the breadcrumbs by a 1/2 cup and made a roux by melting a stick of butter and whisking in a 1/2 cup of flour, a 1/2 cup of milk, and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I whisked the mixture over low heat until thick and smooth and allowed it to cool for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cooled roux to the chicken mixture. I covered the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for about two hours. Later I shaped the mixture into patties and browned them on both sides. These croquettes were much better than the first ones I made. Perhaps these suggestions will help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
What an easy little recipe - and a great way to use up leftover chicken. I've never had croquettes before and found these a little dry (I ran out of eggs), but my husband liked them enough to take the leftovers to work for lunch. He only does this with leftovers he really, really likes. I added some additional seasonings and parmesan cheese as well. I will definitely try these again, only make sure I have enough eggs on hand first! Kudos to the reviewer who suggested using the mini chopper to process the chicken and onion. I did the same and it made working with the chicken really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a really great way to use up some leftover rotisserie chicken! It was very tasty! Instead of frying, I made the croquettes, rolled them in breadcrumbs and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. They were SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent base for chicken croquettes, but I had to add spices to make it more interesting. Based on other reviewers, I added a third egg, some parmesan, some basil and oregano. It was fantastic! I served it with cranberry sauce. Next time I think I will add some pistachios, and cardamom to give it a Moroccan feel, or else some curry powder, turmeric, and paprika for an Indian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
So hard to find a "different" recipe for left over chicken (or turkey etc.,) but this one is a keeper! I did not have to adjust any of the ingredients; these patties were so tasty and just right. Hats off to you Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I thought this was a good recipe, but I would add an extra egg next time I make it. Also, I made my own seasoned bread crumbs with some French bread, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, basil, garlic powder and Parmesan cheese. The next time I make, I'll put the fried patties in a shallow casserole dish, put in some spaghetti sauce and top each patty with a slice of Mozzarella cheese. I'm sure 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven will heat the sauce and melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent. I added some slivered almonds, onion and mozzerella cheese. This makes a lot of croquettes. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Awesome idea using left over chicken to make chicken croquettes. As a big fan of salmon croquettes, I loved the recipe. I didn't use parsley. I used flour instead of breadcrumbs. To moisten patties, I added chicken broth instead of more eggs. Many thanks for the creative idea. I will definitely make them again when I have left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States