Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added spices. I used 1 cup of chopped rotisserie chicken (I cooked), 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley, 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs and 1 egg. I also added a dash of salt and pepper. I shaped them into 2 patties and cooked them on medium heat with a lid over them, flipping them once. I skipped the white sauce, and served them with marble cheddar cheese. I didn't find them bland or dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I agree that, as written, this recipe would be pretty bland and dry... Both things, though, are crazy easy to fix. Add spices till they taste good. If you had a spicy roast chicken, youll probably need to add less flavor. then add eggs. Then only add enough breadcrumbs so they stay together! (and ps. Once I made these after a stuffed chicken supper. DO add the stuffing instead of all the breadcrumbs. My 2and 3yr olds couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I added chopped garlic to this recipe and it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. Its a family pleaser. I use it often. The croquettes can be frozen and are a great re-heat in the microwave. Great alternative for a decent fast meal for those nights when the family is on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe is a good starter, but it can become fabulous with a bit of tweaking. Here’s what I did to add a bit more flavor and much more moisture. To enhance the flavor, I added a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, and a dash or two of cayenne pepper to the chicken mixture. To add moisture to the croquettes, I decreased the breadcrumbs by a 1/2 cup and made a roux by melting a stick of butter and whisking in a 1/2 cup of flour, a 1/2 cup of milk, and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I whisked the mixture over low heat until thick and smooth and allowed it to cool for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cooled roux to the chicken mixture. I covered the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for about two hours. Later I shaped the mixture into patties and browned them on both sides. These croquettes were much better than the first ones I made. Perhaps these suggestions will help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My family loves this recipe! I use crushed Stovetop stuffing instead of bread crumbs for more flavor, and add about a 1/3 cup of prepared gravy to eliminate the patty dryness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These were much too dry. My husband didn't like them at all. I must have made another recipe last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i'm afriad this one didn't go over very well. flavor was ok, but the croquettes were very dry. I'll stick w/my old recipe instead. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These were pretty good. However, I think they need a little something else. Perhaps a sauce (maybe a russian dressing) or something to give it a little extra BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I feel this recipe has potential, but not a great dish with current recipe. I will keep experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States