Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect so they were okay but not great like other posters raved about. I took hints from the other reviewers and added more seasoning. I I used 1/2 c chicken boullion along with the 2 eggs and it was plenty moist. I only used about 1/2 cup onion and found it too much for my liking. I was short on breadcrumbs and used 1/2 pkg. stovetop ground up but that may have dominated the flavour. My teens don't like onion and were picking it out unfortuantely. (I didn't use a food processor). I'd hoped my husband would love them. He said, "It's better than hamburger helper." I'm just happy to make something from scratch and use up my rotissery chicken from last night, which was exactly 3 cups. I don't think I would ruin chicken breasts for this. It is similar to chicken parmagian so I would have just breaded the breast. Would I make again? Perhaps I'd try altering the recipe again on leftover chicken and see what happens next time. Like another poster said, messes up the kitchen and a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
eh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Don't forget to add some garlic and parmesan cheese. It flavors it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful way to use leftovers! I followed the directions listed by cooking cutie concerning the roux,and also added basil, oregano, garlic, thyme to the dry mix. The roux does keep the patties moist. Also if you have a food processor,definitely use that to chop up the chicken, it really helps. I didn't have onions on hand so I used French's Fried Onions. Honestly this will taste wonderful no matter what spices you decide to use. I read someone's review that mentioned using stuffing instead of breading, I think I will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
What a great basic recipe with hugh potential. You can take this recipe and create anything you want out of it. I used all of the basic ingredients, took advice from others (put the chicken and onions through the food processor), and used whatever I had around the kitchen, and then I baked the patties instead of frying them (350 degree for 24 minutes worked for me). Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Good way to use up left over chicken. Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
On the advice of others, I added basil, garlic powder, oregano and another egg. I also decided to bake them as suggested. Didn't work. Mine after baking for 20 minutes were really hard. I sprayed the pan and the top of them with Pam before putting in the oven - maybe that was my mistake. I loved the taste however next time I will panfry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbarton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These turned out great. With the advice of others I added basil, cilantro, parmesan, hot sauce, worcersire, 2 eggs. Also I sauteed the onion with garlic before adding it to chicken mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The first time that I made it I added more spices (according to some of the other reviews) and the taste was over powering. I would recommend sticking to the original recipe, it tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good recipe...read the reviews first! Especially cookingcutie's. I sauteed onions and a stalk of celery in margarine. Added flour then milk and broth to make a roux. I used delicious smoked/BBQ chicken that my husband made last night. I served them over mashed potatos and chicken gravy. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States