Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe is a good starter, but it can become fabulous with a bit of tweaking. Here’s what I did to add a bit more flavor and much more moisture. To enhance the flavor, I added a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, and a dash or two of cayenne pepper to the chicken mixture. To add moisture to the croquettes, I decreased the breadcrumbs by a 1/2 cup and made a roux by melting a stick of butter and whisking in a 1/2 cup of flour, a 1/2 cup of milk, and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I whisked the mixture over low heat until thick and smooth and allowed it to cool for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cooled roux to the chicken mixture. I covered the mixture and allowed it to set in the fridge for about two hours. Later I shaped the mixture into patties and browned them on both sides. These croquettes were much better than the first ones I made. Perhaps these suggestions will help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My family loves this recipe! I use crushed Stovetop stuffing instead of bread crumbs for more flavor, and add about a 1/3 cup of prepared gravy to eliminate the patty dryness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These were much too dry. My husband didn't like them at all. I must have made another recipe last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i'm afriad this one didn't go over very well. flavor was ok, but the croquettes were very dry. I'll stick w/my old recipe instead. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These were pretty good. However, I think they need a little something else. Perhaps a sauce (maybe a russian dressing) or something to give it a little extra BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I feel this recipe has potential, but not a great dish with current recipe. I will keep experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
yum yum yum :) great idea for leftover chicken, usually i add mayonnaise and black olives and make sandwiches :) I did mince the chicken and eggs as 1 member suggested and added onion powder, garlic powder and dried parsley... then i made the pattied quite thin, like a 2 cm thickness and they were delicious :) thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These were somewhat bland and dry, but the overall taste was great with a little creativity for the blandness (adding spices, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I really wanted to like these. The texture was very dry, even after adding two extra eggs and extra onion. They also required a LOT of fat in which to brown them. We served them with chicken gravy otherwise they would have been way too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
We thought these patties were wonderful. We followed the recipe, with the addition of some parmesan cheese, hot sauce and some leftover corn "off" the cob we had from last nite's dinner. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States