Leftover Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made these tonight and also ran through the reviews. What is great about this recipe is how versatile they are to do with what you want. I put my onions in processor and then sauteed them with olive oil and parsley paste...processed red bell pepper and I didn't saute these so they would retain a little crunch. I processed the chicken to a fine chop and then mixed it all together adding ginger paste, salt, pepper, dried basil, a dried garlic blend called Garlic Lover's Garlic by Oregon Flavor Rack, egg, and panko crumbs. I let it sit for about 15 minutes and pan fried them. I topped them with a mayo, lemon juice, garlic blend. It was delicious and my 6 year old loved them. I am premaking uncooked patties to put into the freezer. They were great served with steamed broccoli with lemon juice and a small salad. We will do these again. I was thinking thai spices may be good too. The recipe was very inspirational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peter
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great substituted leftover turkey from Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I haven't had croquettes in over 30 years. Decided to try this recipe out and it came out perfectly!!! I added celery, parm cheese and chives to the recipe. I used a food chopper for the onions, chicken and celery. My family loved it. Hopefully it doesn't take another 30 years to eat this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was tasty but dry. I would make some kind of sauce with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These are really tasty! Turned out a tad dry for my tastes, but that probably depends on how you cook the chicken you use in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
These were yummy. Based on the reviews I made a few minor changes. I added 2 eggs plus a bit of egg beaters. I added italian seasoning and sage to my breadcrumbs as I was using plain. I only added 1 cup of breadcrumbs because I only had 2.5 cups of chicken. I sauteed my onions with garlic in butter. I added dried parsley. I fried these in oil on the stove and they came out delicious with a nice crust, and moist and flavourful on the inside. I like the idea someone posted about serving this with melted cheese and pasta sauce, but I just served mine on the side of some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I never review a recipe, but I have to say this was not good. They were very dry and just not good..sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My variation on this good recipe. Sauteed about 2 cups chopped onions. Toward the end of sauteeing, added some Italian seasoning, some taco seasoning, little garlic powder, about 1/3 can mild green chillies, 2 tbl. pimento. After that, added one can of chunky canned chicken (Costco), chopping it down a little. Let everything blend a little. Removed the whole mixture to a mixing bowl. Added 1-extra large beaten egg, Italian bread crumbs to help in forming patties. Used Panko crumbs to coat the patties before frying until golden brown. Made about 6 patties. Turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight. Used dried parsley because I didn't have fresh, and used Panko bread crumbs. Hubby and I thought this recipe was worth making again. I think I will add some chopped bell pepper and a little garlic next time. Good use of leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We liked this recipe, and will definitely make it again when I have a quantity of leftover chicken. I read quite a few of the reviews and used some of the suggestions.....such as putting chicken in cuisinart, along with some leftover potatoes and some walnuts (for a needed crunch). I used 3 eggs and glad I did. I also sauteed the onions, green pepper, and garlic and added to chicken mixture. I used 2 cups of chicken and it made 6 good sized patties. Baked them on a sprayed pan for 30 min at 350, turning once. I topped with a homemade white sauce, however next time I'll try some whole cranberry sauce. These are hardy and tasty. They can easily be tweaked to your own taste. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States