Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
With the changes I made to the original recipes I give this 5 stars - otherwise if I'd followed the recipe - probably a 2-3 star. I did cook up the macaroni as advised by others - otherwise I think it wouldn't have cooked properly with the amount of liquid asked for! I didn't add the canned veggies - but cut up my own and cooked them up in abit of olive oil and added them to the mixing bowl. I didn't have a can of cream of chicken - so added mushroom instead - which was fine. Also, for the milk mixture - I glitzed mine up by substituting a 1/4 cup of the milk with marsala wine - made for a very rich sauce. I also added a few drops of Tabasco and Worchestshire sauce as well as Mrs. Dash. I think the next time I make it I will make a bread crumb topping. I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
The recipe doesn't say to cook the macaroni before mixing everything together and it should. I didn't cook it beforehand and it didn't get done all the way. It was okay - I'm sure it will be better the next time when the pasta is cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I didn't have a package of macoroni, so I used a box of mac & cheese. I cooked it according to the package, then added the ham, about 3/4 c of milk, 1 cup of frozen veggies, and a can of cream of chicken soup. I poured it in a 1 1/2 qt casserole dish and topped with french fried onions and crushed crackers mixed with melted butter. I cooked @ 350 for about 35 min. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This was an easy, good tasting way to use up some leftovers. I had a hard time getting the macaroni to get done, though. I think next time I will boil the macaroni before adding it to the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is lacking serious instructions. What the author forgot to mention was to add 1 (8 ounce) package elbow macaroni - COOKED! If you follow the instructions given you will not be eating in 45 mins. I followed this recipe without cooking the noodles but felt because the noodles were uncooked it needed more liquid - so I doubled the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden-Carleton, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I had a leftover pork roast that I used for the meat. Used bowtie pasta and only 1 c of cheese to reduce calories. Doctored up the spices as others suggested with Worchestershire sauce, Mrs. Dash, garlic, Tobasco, etc. Cooked bowties separately. Added probably 1/2 cup more milk as I didn't want it to be dry. Nice dish to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This was excellent. I used cream of mushroom soup (since I didn't have any cream of chicken) and I also left out the vegetables. I did cook the pasta al dente. I also put a few drops of tabasco sauce in the milk and soup mixture. When all ingredients were in the casserole dish and mixed well, I topped with some italian spiced bread crumbs. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Good stuff. I halfed the recipe with good results. Next time I might want to put some kind of cracker or bread crumb topping but there will be a next time. Cook the macaroni first also, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I have made this a few times now... I use the basic idea but always change it up a bit due to what I have on hand. This evening I made it with some leftover smoked turkey, mushrooms, onion and of course garlic. Very easy to make it to fit your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Just okay. Missing something. Cook noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States