Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My family really enjoyed this with a few changes that I made. I cooked the macaroni first, substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken as that's what I had on hand, added some garlic powder and cayenne pepper, and sprinkled french fried onion rings on top. The only other change I'll make in the future is to saute some onions to mix in to give it a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I tweaked this also. I used two cans of chicken breast and one can of chopped ham for the meats. The can of mixed vegetables I had consisted mostly of carrots, so I added a can of corn and a can of string beans. Instead of cream of mushroom, I used cream of celery. As far as it being bland, I fixed that with crushed red pepper and ground black pepper! And changing the cheese from cheddar to a mix of mozzarella and cheddar/monterey jack mix added even more flavor. We'll be making more adjustments as this becomes one of our new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe. I took the chance and put in raw macaroni. What a time and pot saver! It came out great. I did add a little dried mustard and paprika. I will definitely make this again. This is a delicious, quick, easy meal. Even my 12 year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Bates
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I didn't precook the noodles and it came out fine. It was a great way to use up leftovers from Mother's Day! Will definitely use this recipe again! It was YUM YUM YUMMY according to my 2 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
DON'T FORGET TO BOIL THE PASTA FIRST! I see this was a common mistake from other users... I liked this, it was perfect for leftover ham. I would probably make again with ham steaks. I too, did not add the veggies when I made it, served them on the side. Next time I will mix in. Make sure you use a giant size bowl to mix well before putting into a baking dish. The family liked it a lot, even my 7 yr old son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori G.
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
awsome recipe, the only recomendation i can make is to add more cheese, and put cheese as a final layer on top of the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Popowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I precooked the macaroni a bit (boiled 5 minutes of the 7-8 minute box directions) to avoid the problems other people had where the macaroni took longer to cook. I omitted the vegetables since I typically don't like everything all mixed up and just served them on the side instead. The ham gave it a really good flavor... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It wasn't too bad. I wanted to add a little more flavor and grabbed the garlic salt. But with the ham it made it pretty salty. I will use the powder next time. I also didn't have cheddar so I used mozzarella cheese...which the kids loved! I used bow-tie pasta and cooked it "almost" done that way it would finish in the oven. Most of us loved it and a couple just thought it was OK. But it is something that I will make again if we ever have leftover ham again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States