Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My husband said it was good but I thought it was just ok. I used leftover chicken from a roaster I had cooked and removed the bones. Because I had the liquid stock, I did not add milk. I cooked the macaroni first and used what vegetables I had left over from other meals, carrots, celery, and green beans. I also topped it with a few crushed club house crackers I had hanging around and sprinkled with parmesan cheese (a suggestion from one of the reviews).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It defiantly needs to be edited to say cooked macaroni, otherwise good recipe. I think if I added 1/2 c water it would have helped with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was mac and cheese with ham and veggie me and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
added homemade leftover pierogies also, WONDERFUL 12/29/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great recipe for throwing together leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great base recipe! I cooked my noodles first and needed to add more milk. I've made it quite a few times and my family is always happy when I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Very good, quick and easy. We cooked the ham with one small, sliced onion and a clove of garlic, before adding to the rest with a dash of thyme and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a great base to use up whatever leftovers you may have in the fridge and cupboard. I've done it a couple times with various ingredients and it's always come out good. Tonights dinner consists of smoky links, ham lunchmeat, red potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower along with the cheese, soup and milk (omitted noodles). I use whatever cheese we have in the fridge also. A great way to use up those scraps that accumulate! Thanks so much for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this without my usual habit of first reading the reviews. Wrong move! I thought it highly odd that the noodles weren't cooked, but the recipe had such a high rating, that I thought it must work. I was still uneasy, so I added WAY more liquid to the recipe, though. Instead of just one cup of milk, I added 3-1/2 cups of milk. All milk was soaked up by the noodles & the noodles were cooked, but still not as tender as I like them. I also had to add an extra 15 minutes to the cook time. When it was finished, it was edible which is why it got two stars instead of one, but nothing I'd cook again. It was extremely dry (even with all the extra liquid added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Don't know how this recipe would taste as written, but with my changes I'd say it's 5 stars. First of all I used left over pork roast. Don't know how my changes would work with ham, but chicken I'm sure would be just as good. I saute'ed some onion, green pepper, mushroom and garlic. I cut the milk in half and substitued sour cream for the other half. DEFINITELY cook the noodles in water until tender. I didn't use canned vegetables, but had some frozen peas and beans. I put some of these in with the noodles as they were cooking (for about 5 minutes). I used cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken. And lastly I didn't put cheese into the noodles, but used some cheddar cheese as a topping. I cooked the casserole covered with foil (do not grease pan) for about 25 minutes. Remove the foil and topped with some cheese. Turn the oven onto broil and let the cheese brown. I also used a little steak/chop seasoning to the mix. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States