Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
With the changes I made to the original recipes I give this 5 stars - otherwise if I'd followed the recipe - probably a 2-3 star. I did cook up the macaroni as advised by others - otherwise I think it wouldn't have cooked properly with the amount of liquid asked for! I didn't add the canned veggies - but cut up my own and cooked them up in abit of olive oil and added them to the mixing bowl. I didn't have a can of cream of chicken - so added mushroom instead - which was fine. Also, for the milk mixture - I glitzed mine up by substituting a 1/4 cup of the milk with marsala wine - made for a very rich sauce. I also added a few drops of Tabasco and Worchestshire sauce as well as Mrs. Dash. I think the next time I make it I will make a bread crumb topping. I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
The recipe doesn't say to cook the macaroni before mixing everything together and it should. I didn't cook it beforehand and it didn't get done all the way. It was okay - I'm sure it will be better the next time when the pasta is cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I didn't have a package of macoroni, so I used a box of mac & cheese. I cooked it according to the package, then added the ham, about 3/4 c of milk, 1 cup of frozen veggies, and a can of cream of chicken soup. I poured it in a 1 1/2 qt casserole dish and topped with french fried onions and crushed crackers mixed with melted butter. I cooked @ 350 for about 35 min. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This was an easy, good tasting way to use up some leftovers. I had a hard time getting the macaroni to get done, though. I think next time I will boil the macaroni before adding it to the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is lacking serious instructions. What the author forgot to mention was to add 1 (8 ounce) package elbow macaroni - COOKED! If you follow the instructions given you will not be eating in 45 mins. I followed this recipe without cooking the noodles but felt because the noodles were uncooked it needed more liquid - so I doubled the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden-Carleton, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I had a leftover pork roast that I used for the meat. Used bowtie pasta and only 1 c of cheese to reduce calories. Doctored up the spices as others suggested with Worchestershire sauce, Mrs. Dash, garlic, Tobasco, etc. Cooked bowties separately. Added probably 1/2 cup more milk as I didn't want it to be dry. Nice dish to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
This was excellent. I used cream of mushroom soup (since I didn't have any cream of chicken) and I also left out the vegetables. I did cook the pasta al dente. I also put a few drops of tabasco sauce in the milk and soup mixture. When all ingredients were in the casserole dish and mixed well, I topped with some italian spiced bread crumbs. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Good stuff. I halfed the recipe with good results. Next time I might want to put some kind of cracker or bread crumb topping but there will be a next time. Cook the macaroni first also, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I have made this a few times now... I use the basic idea but always change it up a bit due to what I have on hand. This evening I made it with some leftover smoked turkey, mushrooms, onion and of course garlic. Very easy to make it to fit your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Loved this recipe. I followed the directions as written, adding a little onion and garlic powders, as suggested by another reviewer. Very Tasty, quick and easy. Thanks so much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States