Lefse II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time, my mother-in-law lost it over the years.My husband just loved it, said it tasted like his grandmothers, they called it flat bread though. Very simple to make.Although I cooked it at a higher temperature and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
FYI: This is commonly referred to as Nordland's or Hardanger Lefse (as in Hardanger Fjord)... my paternal Grandparents are Norwegian & my grandmother taught me a variation of this recipe many years ago. We enjoy this every Christmas morning as part of our traditional Norwegian Christmas Breakfast which consists of lots of breads, meats, cheeses & spreads. This is not a "traditional" potato lefse as other reviewers stated, but it is indeed a lefse. It is thicker than potato lefse & inteded to be served as more of a flat bread for spread, meat & / or cheese... my favorite is simply a little butter & Norwegian goat cheese (geitost). Also, if you don't have time to stand over the stove you can bake it in the oven... just watch it carefully - very lightly golden is all you need (I occasionally roll these out on a pizza stone for baking). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one our family has used for over 80 years, brought from Norway by both my Grandmothers, who by the way, were not from the Hardanger region. It is the only lefse I have ever known until recently when it seems like everyone else in the world is making their lefse with potatos. Thank you for sharing this recipe. We always cook it in a 400 oven until it begins to brown. Its best if it does not brown, just lightly brown on the bubbly parts. After the sheets are softened we spread butter/cinnamon/sugar mix, add another sheet and cut into diamond shapes. Served as a sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is lefsa. The reviewer that stated it isn't, is probably a Swede. The Hardanger region is not the only region that has a tradition of lefsa without potatoes. My grandmothers family came from Suldal in Rogaland near Stavanger. She made a lefsa without potatoes. We called it Stavanger Lefsa. Some people refer to it as West Coast Lefsa. Vestlands Lefsa has a lefsa that comes in a box and you rehydrate the sheets of lefsa that does not contain potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARPENTERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
When I went to Norway, to my wonderful surprise I found that really GREAT Lefse was made with flour! It all depend where you were raised and who made it. Great recipe! Yes, REAL Lefse is made with flour too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I ate my weight in lefse while living as a nanny in Norway. I've been searching for a recipe for a few months, and I was starting to think I had the wrong name for it. All the recipes called for potato. This must be a Norwegian-American thing? Or maybe they do that in a different part of Norway. At any rate, this recipe is EXACTLY what I tasted in Norway and it's delicious if you place the lefse between damp towels until it's soft, then layer it with butter and sugar and cut into manageable strips. It's odd and delicious, freezes well, and is quintessentially Norsk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was yummy.. I cooked some lighty and some really brown to see which I liked better. They both were good. I had this with some eggs for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Great to find a true Norwegian lefse recipe! Potato lefse is what we American Norwegians probably grew up with, but in Norway you will not find that! Potatoes were only used when families could not afford to purchase flour, so this recipe really is what is made in Norway today - and in the past is what our ancestors would have made before immigrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I use to make this all the time, or something very simular, and had gotten the recipe from a Norweigen lady, the only difference was that there was 3 cups of buttermilk, one cup of kayo syrup, and 10 cups flour, no sugar was added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I have to admit I haven't made this recipe, but it is NOT lefse! Lefse is potatoes, butter, flour, and a little milk and sugar. This just isn't it. No Scandinavian would ever confuse this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States