Lee's Incredible Momos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Here is my Momo tip of the day that got rave reviews from my guest. prepare as instructed but instead of steaming get a nice large non stick skillet on medium heat with a couple Tbls of light oil like EVOO. Place the dumplings in the hot skillet large side down and cook without turning 5 minutes until brown. get a nice tight fitting lid then drizzle a couple of TBLS of water into skillet and slap the lid on let cook for another 5 min or so... Oh Man! Make a nice spicy-sweet dipping sauce and you are rockin! serve em hot! Good luck keeping up with the demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
wonderful! if you have an asian large grocery store like H-Mart you can buy a special steamer for these....worth it if you LOVE momos as I do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
These came out really yummy! Dumplings are one of those things that I just crave sometimes, and these were made with things that I normally have in the pantry anyway! I steamed half like was suggested and then pan-fried half in about 3 Tbls. vegetable oil because I didn't want to wait another 30 mins. Both were equally delicious. The fried took about 7 minutes. Thanks Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I tried a different approach. I cooked the ingredients together first. I then spooned them into the round wrappers. I baked them in the oven on a cookie sheet just until the edges were brown. They were good but needed a sweet dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Very good recipe and very easy to make. Very close to what I was served at at tibetian tea. I have also used dumpling wrappers from the local asian market. If you take the momos out while they're hot you can give them a quick coat of oil to keep them from sticking. Keep them spaced in the steamer to avoid any sticking. We prefer using sweet Thai chili sauce for dipping. All around a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
When steaming: I lived in China and when my friends steamed they used bamboo steamers and oiled the wood - I also observed some using oiled cheese cloth as a layer on the bottom of the steamers. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very tasty! For the filling I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used 1T of dried cilantro instead. Also for the dipping sauce I didn't have chile oil but did have hot chile paste so I used 2t vegetable oil and 1t chile paste. The only problem I had was steaming them. I had a lot of them and used egg roll wrappers instead of wonton -- the wrappers were really thin and stuck fast to the metal of the steamer tray, and to each other. So they tasted good but kind of fell apart when I tried to take them out. I will experiment more with this (different folding method or cooking longer, or cooking uncovered instead of covered) because the recipe was good enough for me to want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I followed the suggestion to fry and then steam and they turned out WONDERFUL! I also just steamed them and they were pretty good too. The baking method (which I also tried) didn't turn out all that well. Any way you do it though, they have great flavor. My question is: How did anybody get all that mix into 12 wrappers?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Store bought pot stickers can't even come close to the flavor of these. Whole house absolutely loved them. Only I used gyoza wrappers instead of wonton wrappers. I used a little extra ginger in the last few momo's and I quite liked it better, and I don't even like ginger! I would recommend using more ginger in the whole mix. Which I can't believe I'm typing. 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
These were really good. I steamed some and pan-fried/steamed some (per another reviewer's suggestion), and we liked the texture of the crispy pan fried ones a little more. The dipping sauce was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States