Leek and Onion Vegetable Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is GREAT! Way better than plain onion dip. Try it with Michael Seasons' light potato chips- they're awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Excellent dip! I used lower fat or fat free ingredients and it was still awesome. One of my favorite veggie dips so far. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent! So easy to make and had wonderful flavour. It's best if you let it sit for a few hours before serving. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made it, but it was still too typically onion-tasting. I added twice the dillweed, and that helped. I sprinkled a little parsley and basil as well to try to make it less common. I used Knorr Leak, and a regular brand onion, but it was the regular onion that it tasted like, before my added improvements. I would like to try it again using 2 Leeks, and the double dillweed and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This dip is good and goes great with peppers or other veggies.Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a nice change from regualr onion dip. I used Knorr leek soup mix, lite sour cream and lite mayo. I chilled it overnight and served it with baby carrots, sliced cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, celery, and assorted crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The best vegetable dip I ever tasted, and extremely easy to throw together. I made it the night before I served it and the flavour was marvelous. I would highly recommend this recipe and I will continue to use this as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I took this to a New Year's Eve Party and it was a huge hit. I've tried many veggie dips and have liked them (like Barefoot Contessa's is very good or Beau Monde, etc) but this one is just the right combination, I think. I used KNORR mixes for both the Onion and the Leek soups and surprisingly found it not to be overly salty...AND it's something you can keep the ingredients on hand for AND throw together easily...AND it's liked with veggies AND chips. One of my friends, grabbed the dip off the buffet and brought it to the table where we were eating to keep everyone from having to get up to get more. That should tell you something right there. As far as prep...I increased the dill to probably 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons and just a FYI you might not think about (I didn't)...this dip does have to sit for a bit (i.e. chill) not just for flavor but because you need the crunchy components of the soup to soften. I made it at 3p and we ate it at 7p and it was fine. EDIT: As much as I like this dip, I did find that finding the leek soup mix became a bit of a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I was pleasantly surprized by this dip. I'm always looking for new dips to make for veggie platters and this was one the whole family liked. I used my own homemade dry onion soup mix, reduced fat mayonnaise and reduced fat sour cream. I served this with sliced cucumbers, carrot "chips", pea pods and homemade pita chips. I'd like to try this with fresh leeks next time and omit the packaged leek soup mix. As is, we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Amazing! The perfect balance for a veggie dip! I do not like the typical by the box onion soup dip. It reminds me of the spinach dip combination. I have been asked to make this numerous times and also for the recipe. Thank you...I finally have my go to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States