Leek and Cheese Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
My husband and I did enjoy this quiche. We made a few changes to make it a little healthier. We used Egg Beaters, reduced fat swiss cheese (Jarlsberg Lite), and fat free condensed milk. I highly suggest that you use a deep dish pie crust. We also had to bake it for an additional 15 minutes. It came out very tasty and we will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This was my first attempt at making a quiche and my husband and I both loved it! I substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream for a lighter recipe and used old white cheddar and parmesan instead of swiss and romano cheese for a sharper taste. I found the regular pie crust to be a little small; next time I'll use a deep pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This had great flavor even without added spices. I lightened it up by not using cream. I used one more egg, a good dash of milk and an extra tablespoon of flour mixed with the eggs. The texture was good and cooking time was cut by 5 min. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I had great hopes for this recipe; unfortunately, I found that it presented many problems. First of all, only half of the leeks and cheese mixture fit into my deep-dish pie crust. Secondly, the recipe recommends seasoning with salt and pepper as the last step--this was a mistake, since the tomatoes soaked up all of the salt and made for a very unpleasant taste. And lastly, my quiche took twice as long to bake--and even then it was more like a soup. We threw the whole thing away and ate leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a first-rate quiche! I only had one cup of milk, so I just used that and added an extra egg, as I prefer an eggier quiche. It turned out perfect--and very pretty to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I would give it 4 1/2 stars. It was lovely and easy to make. I did make some changes though. I added garlic while I sautéed the leeks and I used Parmesan and Monterey Jack cheese as replacements for the other cheeses. These changes seemed to give it a little extra kick. I used the heavy cream...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURIE
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is so good! The only additions I made were some parsley and chives. Such an easy and elegant looking quiche. I think I might try adding a few asparagus spears next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this last night and it was super delicious! I added some garlic and used 1 cup of each cheese and doubled the flour as I used milk instead of cream. It not only tasted great but looked beautiful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very good! I used sharp cheddar cheese and a 4 cheese parmesan type. Definitely get the deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This is a nice, light tasting quiche. I did not use the romano cheese, only swiss and added some fresh rosemary for taste. It has a good flavor and was relatively simple to do. I would recommend deep dish 9" pie crusts so as to not overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States