Leek Tomato Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This was super easy to assemble and make. I made it for a father's day picnic and out of 5 side dishes, there were no leftovers on this one. We sliced the leek the night before and soaked them in a bowl of water to get all the sand out. In the morning, all I had to do was assemble and bake. It was super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
My husband and I really liked this dish. There was a little liquid in the bottom of the pan but I just spooned it out. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A creative dish that's eye-pleasing and very quick to throw together. I only had one leek, so I made 1/8 of the recipe. I liked the combination of ingredients, though next time, I would reduce the amount of rosemary and sage, as the bitterness/pungentness of these spices only heighten the bitterness of the leek. I would increase the amount of thyme, crackers, and cheese (by a substantial amount for the latter two). If the crackers and cheese are not themselves too salty, I would also add a pinch of salt. I used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was really good, but kinda' soupy. It would have been very good with rice as a bottom layer, which could have soaked up some of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angyl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I went to the farmer's market the other day and happened to buy both leeks and tomatoes, so decided to try this. It is really good. Flavorful and so, so easy!!! AS was mentioned, some liquid does accumulate at the bottom..so just serve with a slotted spoon. Also, I was out of sage and thyme, so I just used Italian seasoning...and it tasted great! will definitely make again and again. In fact...I think I'll go back to the farmer's market tomorrow and get some more tomatoes and more leeks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was really, REALLY good! Even my mother-in-law liked it. I was generous with the crushed crackers and it turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this for dinner guests tonight and they reached for second and third helpings. I drizzled some olive oil over the leeks before adding the rest of the ingredients, and they cooked up quite nicely that way. Very nice dish, but not quite the rave that deserves five stars. I will definitely add this to my side-dish repertoire because it tastes good AND is a breeze to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide for preparing leeks, of which I had bunches. However, I had no tomatoes, no buttery crackers, and no mozz. So I used plain breadcrumbs, white cheddar, and omitted the tomatoes. Then followed the recipe as written, and it was fantastic! No soggy bottom, no pools of liquid (which of course is caused by the cooking tomatoes). Next time I may use the tomatoes for just as "variation" but I will seed them first. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I thought this was really yum, but my family wouldn't eat it! More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Best with thick juicy tomatoes and then not as much butter is needed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pancetta-Wrapped Leek Gratin

Leeks are wrapped in pancetta, topped with Parmesan and cream, and baked.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States