Leek Tomato Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was really, REALLY good! Even my mother-in-law liked it. I was generous with the crushed crackers and it turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Best with thick juicy tomatoes and then not as much butter is needed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Excellent. Everyone loved it! Even my teenagers! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this for dinner guests tonight and they reached for second and third helpings. I drizzled some olive oil over the leeks before adding the rest of the ingredients, and they cooked up quite nicely that way. Very nice dish, but not quite the rave that deserves five stars. I will definitely add this to my side-dish repertoire because it tastes good AND is a breeze to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide for preparing leeks, of which I had bunches. However, I had no tomatoes, no buttery crackers, and no mozz. So I used plain breadcrumbs, white cheddar, and omitted the tomatoes. Then followed the recipe as written, and it was fantastic! No soggy bottom, no pools of liquid (which of course is caused by the cooking tomatoes). Next time I may use the tomatoes for just as "variation" but I will seed them first. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
No, this what not I was looking when I planned to make leek this way as it was very much chewy, I am disappointed , next time I wont add leek at all to the recipe,may be subs with cabbage or mushroom will do good ,provided cabbage also is precooked a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was really good, but kinda' soupy. It would have been very good with rice as a bottom layer, which could have soaked up some of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I made this as written, and thought it was ok. I sliced the leeks very finely - I should have used less green, I think. They were a tad tough and bitter - and broke the slices apart into rings so they would cook better. I wish I'd added a little diced onion to the leek layer, and also used some extra-sharp Cheddar with the mozzerella. This was quite nice for a change, but I'm in no hurry to make it again. If I did, I would probably omit the leeks altogether. Thanks, anyway. (PS, I did, in fact make it again - the next day. That time I omitted the leeks, and used tomato, onion and mushroom. It worked really well, reminiscent of pizza!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Made this last night and it was the most enthusiastic I've ever seen Himself about a vegetable dish (normally you have to chloroform him to get any down him at all). Only change made - as I didn't have any dried sage - was a sprinkle of McCormicks Greek Seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was pretty good, not great, but good. I went through a lot of trouble to find leeks and I think this would have come out just as good with yellow onions. The leeks seemed chewy....maybe I didn't cook it long enough. There was so much liquid at the bottom. If I make this again, I may just use onions, cheaper and easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pancetta-Wrapped Leek Gratin

Leeks are wrapped in pancetta, topped with Parmesan and cream, and baked.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States