Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this this morning and it is keeping warm in a crockpot while I go out. It is delicious. Just the right amount of everything. I happened to have a cooked chicken breast on hand so I shredded it and added it to the soup. This has all my favorite, potatoes, cheese, mushrooms. Thanks, Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Schwarz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family always loves this one, but yesterday I tried it out at the soup kitchen. Everyone loved it! Some asked for seconds. One guy said "It's not just good soup, it's great soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious, but I did change it up a bit by substituting 1/2 sweet Vidalia onion, 3/4 cup Half & Half, 1/4 cup water and 2 small stalks diced celery, omitting the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My daughter gave it a 3 but I gave a 4 since I think it was my fault that it didn't do as well as others rated. I had 4 potatoes but they were on the larger size causing the potato flavor to come out just to much and not enough of the other flavors to come out. More like a potato soup. Even though I used 2 large leeks, you really couldn't taste them and I think I would have liked more mushrooms. I may try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My husband and I made this last night and really enjoyed it - after we used some much needed tabasco to pump up the flavor... I did make a few minor changes to the recipe. I started by cooking about 4 strips of chopped bacon. Once the bacon was crispy, I removed the cooked bacon (reserved for garnish) and cooked the mushrooms in the bacon grease. I removed the mushrooms, set them aside and then cooked the leeks and potatoes, adding chicken broth and seasoning. I simmered the potatoes for about 25 minutes, until they were done. I think an hour is a bit long and may yield mushy over cooked potatoes. The next time I will add some cayenne (see note above) and likely sub thyme for the celery seed (I didn't have celery salt) since my husband isn't a huge fan of celery. Overall good, quick, hearty soup recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Wonderful! A lot of black pepper really complements this soup. I did use veggie broth and about double the cheese (promised myself that I wouldn't but I LOVE cheese) and I only simmered for 30 minutes. Followed everything else as written. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Excellent, I just love this soup. I added a touch of Summer Savory which was nice. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I only changed the recipe by adding brocoli and a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this almost exactly as written and it was awesome. I used red potatoes, colby jack instead of cheddar, and a little extra garlic, but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. Fried up a little sausage on the side for my husband and he said it really added to the flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is the third soup recipe I've tried and I have to say it was the most successful. I had to make a few changes through lack of ingredients.... Didn't have celery salt so I put some celery in with the leeks and potatoes as well as a few slices of red peppers to give it a bit of colour - and because I had it and needed to use it up. Didn't have mustard powder so I used a squirt of Heinz mustard instead. Threw in a handful of frozen peas towards the end, again for colour. It was superb! I admit I was a bit worried about the garlic because the other two recipes I tried stated garlic as well and I found it totally overrode the taste of the main ingredient (1 was beet root soup and the other fresh pea soup) but I decided to try it with and again without if it did the same. It didn't. One of the tastiest soups I've had and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States