Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Fabulous! Thick, warm comfort food, served with a buttered slab of my Stilton and Parmesan Cheese bread. I used both white and green parts of leeks, didn't mash the potatoes, just diced them, added a bit of broccoli, only had white mushrooms, and only had 2 cups of chicken broth on hand, so used 1 cup of beef broth as well. Cabot Seriously Sharp Cheddar works well, but be sure to get high-quality Parmesan to hand grate freshly. The cost is higher, but the flavor is so much better, it's worth the extra money - and you can use less. I haven't tried it, but I'll bet a bit of crumbled sausage would be really good in here as well. You're right; I have everything on hand, even the leeks, 'cause they substitute well for onions, and there are 2 different flavors in the white and green parts. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this this morning and it is keeping warm in a crockpot while I go out. It is delicious. Just the right amount of everything. I happened to have a cooked chicken breast on hand so I shredded it and added it to the soup. This has all my favorite, potatoes, cheese, mushrooms. Thanks, Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Schwarz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family always loves this one, but yesterday I tried it out at the soup kitchen. Everyone loved it! Some asked for seconds. One guy said "It's not just good soup, it's great soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious, but I did change it up a bit by substituting 1/2 sweet Vidalia onion, 3/4 cup Half & Half, 1/4 cup water and 2 small stalks diced celery, omitting the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My daughter gave it a 3 but I gave a 4 since I think it was my fault that it didn't do as well as others rated. I had 4 potatoes but they were on the larger size causing the potato flavor to come out just to much and not enough of the other flavors to come out. More like a potato soup. Even though I used 2 large leeks, you really couldn't taste them and I think I would have liked more mushrooms. I may try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My husband and I made this last night and really enjoyed it - after we used some much needed tabasco to pump up the flavor... I did make a few minor changes to the recipe. I started by cooking about 4 strips of chopped bacon. Once the bacon was crispy, I removed the cooked bacon (reserved for garnish) and cooked the mushrooms in the bacon grease. I removed the mushrooms, set them aside and then cooked the leeks and potatoes, adding chicken broth and seasoning. I simmered the potatoes for about 25 minutes, until they were done. I think an hour is a bit long and may yield mushy over cooked potatoes. The next time I will add some cayenne (see note above) and likely sub thyme for the celery seed (I didn't have celery salt) since my husband isn't a huge fan of celery. Overall good, quick, hearty soup recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Wonderful! A lot of black pepper really complements this soup. I did use veggie broth and about double the cheese (promised myself that I wouldn't but I LOVE cheese) and I only simmered for 30 minutes. Followed everything else as written. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Excellent, I just love this soup. I added a touch of Summer Savory which was nice. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I only changed the recipe by adding brocoli and a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this almost exactly as written and it was awesome. I used red potatoes, colby jack instead of cheddar, and a little extra garlic, but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. Fried up a little sausage on the side for my husband and he said it really added to the flavor. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States