Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I have been using Allrecipes for a few years but joined today just so I could rate/review this recipe. It is fabulous and got the most fabulous compliments from my boyfriend and others! Thank you! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used veggie broth instead of chicken (2 cans and skipped the water), doubled the mushrooms and sauteed them with the leeks, and added defrosted broccoli after the soup had been simmering about 45 min. I pureed about 1/3 of the soup instead of lightly mashing it and it gave it a nice thick texture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This soup is awesome! I like how this recipe includes ingredients that I already have in my fridge. I made a few changes too - I left out the butter and substituted proscuitto for the mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Yum! My changes: veggie broth instead of chicken; 2 stalks of green garlic instead a clove; substituted a cup of steamed pureed broccoli for the mushrooms (but I can't wait to try it with mushrooms later!); no celery salt; extra liquids to make up for my extra veggies. I used extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We didn't have mushrooms on hand but had lots of potatoes and leeks. We chose this recipe because it had "cheddar" in the title. Yum. Other than not having mushrooms, we followed the recipe exactly except to add some red bell pepper. It was very good, especially with crutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The only thing I did differently was to omit the celery salt, and I used more cheese. Oh, and I sauteed the mushrooms along with the leeks and potatoes. Next time I'll add a little onion. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I liked this and my inlaws loved it so it gets five stars. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe, I usually make major changes, but left this one virtually as is. I did add a stalk of celery (no celery salt) and used twice as much mushroom, but other then that GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Best soup ever. I have passed this on to my family and they love it. Every spring we pick wild leeks and store for the winter use, just to have this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did make a few minor changes that I don't believe altered the taste of the soup itself. One large leek instead of two, a teaspoon of minced garlic (about 2-3 cloves), powdered chicken soup base for the chicken broth, ground celery seed instead of the salt variety, cremini mushrooms instead of portobello mushrooms and left out the croutons. This soup has too much going on, and wasn't very flavourful besides the saltiness and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States