Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I got rave reviews for this one. I changed the mushrooms a bit, since I didn't have fresh. I used a combination of dried and canned, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We didn't have mushrooms on hand but had lots of potatoes and leeks. We chose this recipe because it had "cheddar" in the title. Yum. Other than not having mushrooms, we followed the recipe exactly except to add some red bell pepper. It was very good, especially with crutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I was disappointed in the recipe. The soup turned out too thick, very bland and really without any taste. It ended up being a large amount when I added water to dilute it out and now I don't know what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
For a lighter twist on this recipe: I omitted the cheese and added 1/2 a pound of steamed broccoli, run through the food processor. You could do the same with frozen broccoli thawed and chooped that way. Also, try sauteeing the potato and leeks in sherry, add the sherry about halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Got some leeks at the farmer's market and went searching for a recipe. Didn't make any changes except for some extra cheddar and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is excellent! Very filling. I added a little more cheese (1 cup). Will make again for my soup loving family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
loved this! i made a few changes based on what i had - baked two potatoes and mashed them with garlic and herb boursin cheese. sauteed leeks and mushrooms together, added broth and seasonings, then added the mashed potato-cheese mixture and milk. yummy! will try this with cheddar, too, sometime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Loved this recipe! I used Porcini Mushrooms (dried). I soaked them in hot water for about 10-15min while preparing rest of the soup. I saved the water(about 1 cup) from the mushrooms and added it to the chichen broth for more flavor. I only added the mushrooms after mashing the potatoes. I served this as a main course for dinner so was not 6 servings. Turned out to be 3 large bowls and 2 kid size bowls. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
LOVE it! Of course I always use vegetable broth rather than chicken as I'm a vegetarian. This was very tasty and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe, I usually make major changes, but left this one virtually as is. I did add a stalk of celery (no celery salt) and used twice as much mushroom, but other then that GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States