Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I had an extra celery stalk so I added that aswell. This recipe will definitely become a regular however I will cut down on the amt. of added flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Good recipe! I sauteed leek, mushrooms, and onion & celery (I added these) all together, and then added to the soup. Added extra milk and flour. I made the mistake of not mashing the potatoes enough. It was ok, but it would've been a lot better if they were mashed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very tasty. I skipped the whole flour and liquids in a seperate bowl business, and just added everything to the pot (minus the flour, the potatoes eventually thickened the soup up nicely enough). The mushrooms and the cheeses make this a 5 star soup, a lovely addition to my favoutite leek&potato. The only thing I missed a little is maybe some herbs for extra flavour. I toasted some sunflower seed bread slices, cut them into cubes and threw them on top of the soup with some extra grated cheese. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I've never been a fan of potato soup, but this recipe came out really well. I made some minor changes. I used half and half instead of milk and dijon mustard instead of ground. Also, I always use asiago instead of parm. And I left out the mushrooms, just because I didn't have any on hand. The soup comes out pretty salty with the broth and the cheese and celery salt, so next time I think I will use low salt broth. Additional salt is not necessary at all, and I like salt. ;) **I made this again, this time with the mushrooms. They really add a nice touch. Also, I chopped up some turkey bacon and sauteed with the leeks and potatoes.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I loved it (a five for me) and my husband liked it. My 2 & 1 year olds ate it up and asked for more. I didn't change anything but might add some chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This soup was DELICIOUS! I don't care for mushrooms, so I substituted broccoli. I pureed the potatoes, leeks, and broccoli after cooking for an hour. (I steamed the broccoli and added it to the potato/leek mixture when I pureed it.) It was really creamy and tasty! Serve with biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
delicious. I added extra leeks which was a good thing I think, you could hardly taste them, and extra potatoes as we like our soups pretty thick. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Great recipe. I make it as is (minus the mushrooms. I tryed adding more cheddar a few times but found it too "glue like". YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow! Although I "tweaked" it a bit this was delicious! My family doesn't really like mushrooms so we omitted those & substituted a cup of chunked bacon instead. I also increased the cheddar cheese to 1 full cup. We like some chunkiness to our soup, I didn't really mash the potatoes much either. Even so... this was amazing & my hubby & kids gobbled up every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The only thing I did differently was to omit the celery salt, and I used more cheese. Oh, and I sauteed the mushrooms along with the leeks and potatoes. Next time I'll add a little onion. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States