Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! This is now going to be a favourite in our house :) I didn't have celery salt or parmesan cheese, but this turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I hate to be a naysayer, especially on a popular recipe, but despite adding celery, onion, basil and parsley, we still found this soup to be pretty bland and lifeless, and the majority of it ended up in the trash (a first for me). Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
A delicious blend of flavors. I had no Cheddar but substitued Swiss with an excellent end result. Make sure to leave the potatoes somewhat chunky for a mix of textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyPieya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good soup. Great flavour, nice and thick. I didn't mash the potatoes because I didn't think it would need it. Because of that, I cooked the soup a lot less than it called for, and it was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaPulk
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i asked my boyfriend what rating to give this one and he said 5 without hesitation! i added a little bit of onion with the potatos and leeks as i was short on leeks. i also used white pepper instead of black. while cooking the mushrooms, i threw in a little basil and thyme to make sure the soup had some good flavor. all in all, i barely changed the recipe and it was delicious! great consistency. im sure the leftovers in the fridge wont last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this with items found at our local farmers market (leek, golden potato, and huge portabella mushroom cap). I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. Also, I used a tablespoon of curry powder instead of celery salt, because there's never too much curry, you know? Would also be great with carrots, parsnips, turnips, or others. But be sure to include the mushrooms. Wow. Excellent soup! My only complaint is that it was so good I ate too much too fast and got a tummy ache. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminivirgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Yum! My changes: veggie broth instead of chicken; 2 stalks of green garlic instead a clove; substituted a cup of steamed pureed broccoli for the mushrooms (but I can't wait to try it with mushrooms later!); no celery salt; extra liquids to make up for my extra veggies. I used extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I had an extra celery stalk so I added that aswell. This recipe will definitely become a regular however I will cut down on the amt. of added flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Good recipe! I sauteed leek, mushrooms, and onion & celery (I added these) all together, and then added to the soup. Added extra milk and flour. I made the mistake of not mashing the potatoes enough. It was ok, but it would've been a lot better if they were mashed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very tasty. I skipped the whole flour and liquids in a seperate bowl business, and just added everything to the pot (minus the flour, the potatoes eventually thickened the soup up nicely enough). The mushrooms and the cheeses make this a 5 star soup, a lovely addition to my favoutite leek&potato. The only thing I missed a little is maybe some herbs for extra flavour. I toasted some sunflower seed bread slices, cut them into cubes and threw them on top of the soup with some extra grated cheese. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States