Leek Potato Mushroom Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Loved this soup and used some leftovers. I added a chopped shallot instead of garlic to leeks and red potatoes. All out of chicken broth, I used vegetable broth, was fine; did not have celery salt, used 1/2 tsp. season salt instead. As the vegetables and seasoned broth were simmering 4 stems of fresh thyme were added as well as 2 chunks of baked ham. This simmered for 20 minutes, the potatoes were gently mashed, and 1/2 C milk was added along with the mushrooms and chopped pieces of the ham. The soup had a medium thickness, just right for us. It made 4 hearty servings, I look forward to the leftover soup tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Made this last night and it was great! Used crimini mushrooms instead of portobello. Also decided to top with bacon bits, so I cooked the leak and potato mixture in a little bit of bacon grease instead of olive oil. The croutons definitely added a nice texture. I will make again! Great on it's own but also a great base soup. Next time I will try and dress it up as a corn chowder. I would say this is much closer to 4 servings than 6 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Fabulous! Thick, warm comfort food, served with a buttered slab of my Stilton and Parmesan Cheese bread. I used both white and green parts of leeks, didn't mash the potatoes, just diced them, added a bit of broccoli, only had white mushrooms, and only had 2 cups of chicken broth on hand, so used 1 cup of beef broth as well. Cabot Seriously Sharp Cheddar works well, but be sure to get high-quality Parmesan to hand grate freshly. The cost is higher, but the flavor is so much better, it's worth the extra money - and you can use less. I haven't tried it, but I'll bet a bit of crumbled sausage would be really good in here as well. You're right; I have everything on hand, even the leeks, 'cause they substitute well for onions, and there are 2 different flavors in the white and green parts. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this this morning and it is keeping warm in a crockpot while I go out. It is delicious. Just the right amount of everything. I happened to have a cooked chicken breast on hand so I shredded it and added it to the soup. This has all my favorite, potatoes, cheese, mushrooms. Thanks, Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Schwarz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family always loves this one, but yesterday I tried it out at the soup kitchen. Everyone loved it! Some asked for seconds. One guy said "It's not just good soup, it's great soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious, but I did change it up a bit by substituting 1/2 sweet Vidalia onion, 3/4 cup Half & Half, 1/4 cup water and 2 small stalks diced celery, omitting the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My daughter gave it a 3 but I gave a 4 since I think it was my fault that it didn't do as well as others rated. I had 4 potatoes but they were on the larger size causing the potato flavor to come out just to much and not enough of the other flavors to come out. More like a potato soup. Even though I used 2 large leeks, you really couldn't taste them and I think I would have liked more mushrooms. I may try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My husband and I made this last night and really enjoyed it - after we used some much needed tabasco to pump up the flavor... I did make a few minor changes to the recipe. I started by cooking about 4 strips of chopped bacon. Once the bacon was crispy, I removed the cooked bacon (reserved for garnish) and cooked the mushrooms in the bacon grease. I removed the mushrooms, set them aside and then cooked the leeks and potatoes, adding chicken broth and seasoning. I simmered the potatoes for about 25 minutes, until they were done. I think an hour is a bit long and may yield mushy over cooked potatoes. The next time I will add some cayenne (see note above) and likely sub thyme for the celery seed (I didn't have celery salt) since my husband isn't a huge fan of celery. Overall good, quick, hearty soup recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Wonderful! A lot of black pepper really complements this soup. I did use veggie broth and about double the cheese (promised myself that I wouldn't but I LOVE cheese) and I only simmered for 30 minutes. Followed everything else as written. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Excellent, I just love this soup. I added a touch of Summer Savory which was nice. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States