Lebkuchen VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been using a recipe similar to this for over 40 years. It came to me from my Cincinnati-born grandmother (1882-1964) of German heritage. The only difference is the addition of 1 teaspoon of ground ginger and I use chopped pecans, which makes it the American version. I also use 3 packed cups of flour so the dough is not so sticky for handling and bake at 375 for 15 minutes. I have used a dog-bone-shaped cookie cutter for fun but usually just roll and cut into rectangles, 24 per batch. Never have had the patience to wait a few days for mellowing. Select family members get some each Christmas. It is a lot of work but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Definitely refrigerate the dough overnight, but my mom (who got the recipe from my dad's German family) always divided it in two, and then patted each half into a rectangle nearly the total size of a cookie sheet. Place half a blanched almond where each cookie will be. When baked, cut lines horizontally and diagonally so cookies are almond shaped. Saves all that rolling! Also, make a least A MONTH in advance and put away in a tin to age. The rule in my family was if the lebkuchen hasn't been made by Thanksgiving, it's too late to make it in time for xmas! It's good any time -- no oil, so it's practically fat free! Did you notice? Haven't tried this version yet so can't accurately rate the comparable flavor -- Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is the same as my Oma's recipe, It gets better as it ages. She would hide a box of them from us. - I also use the microwave to do the molasses and honey, much simpler clean up. - The stickiness I solved not with flour, but with an oil spray like Pam. Keeps stuff from sticking, and no extra flour taste. - Also, keep it chilled and only bring out of the fridge what you can cut for 2 pans at a time (my oven size) - Make sure you space them right, they will spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
very tasty but soooooo sticky! How did others manage the cookie cutters? I am trying for Christmas shapes and it is very difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Loved making this recipe, i thought it tasted just like real german lebkuchen, which i love! Only downside is that the sugar topping didn't work out from me. However, this didn't detract from the finished product which was still great. When rolling out the dough i would recommend not putting too much flour on your surface but just rubbing in a little bit to the top and bottom (after every couple of rolls out) this kept the dough nice and not too floury but also helped it roll out very easily! i could even easily cut mine out into star shapes which i was impressed with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
A few years ago I had tried a different lebkuchen recipe and although it was good, it paled in comparison to this one. According to my husband, this was better than the lebkuchen that I usually order from Germany. I would agree that this recipe requires chilling overnight in the refrigerator. To get over the stickiness, I found the following technique useful. Definitely get the back oblaten (communion wafers). I got the 70mm size. Set those on a cookie sheet. Use a cookie scoop and prior to scooping out some dough, dip it in flour. Coat your hands with flour and take the scooped out dough and roll it into a ball. Smash it down on one of the back oblaten. Use your fingers to push the dough out to the edges of the wafers. The portion size should be about perfect for the 1/4 inch suggested. If you find your fingers or cookie scoop getting sticky, just coat them with more flour. You don't have to worry about pulling dough of a roller and you're not mixing in a lot of extra flour. Although the glaze is really good, I took some of my lebkuchen and coated the tops with melted chocolate. I had some difficulty finding citron and hazelnuts but found a really good website that I was able to order both from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
All my German friends want this recipe--that's how authentic it tastes. The only changes I made were: 1) instead of boiling the honey and molasses, I just warmed them up in the microwave (which made the dough stiffer and less sticky); and 2) I used a simpler glaze by just whisking together a little powdered sugar with some milk (no cooking necessary). Also, be sure to seal the baked and glazed cookies in a container with a wedge of orange or apple for several hours, then take the fruit out. It softens them up to exactly the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe. Yes, the dough is VERY sticky-but a lot of German cookie recipes are very sticky. They remind me a lot of the lebkucken and gingerbread cookies we buy from the german deli every winter-which are the best in my opinion. One way to prevent them from sticking on the bottom is to place them on rice paper or wafers, called Back-oblaten. I didn't have to bake them as long as recommended. It took 7-8 min. I then melted some semisweet chocolate and drizzled the tops of them when they were cool. They do taste better after a 2-3 days in a sealed container but are still great right out of the oven. Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Well, I didn't have the stickiness issue that many others had, but I had a terrible time with the glaze that is supposed to go on top. It just got really gooey and nasty. The cookies were very hard if they were just a smidge less than 1/4" thick. The taste was okay, but the glaze was a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is a bit darker and spicier than the ones my German mom used to make. I did find a good way to deal with the sticky dough: line a 10x15 jellyroll pan w/ parchment. Take a "wad" of dough with your floured hands and give it the first flattening. You can probably roll it a little now on your floured surface to even out the thickness. Fit it into the pan and work another piece. You can press the seams together so it looks like one big uniform pan full. When it bakes it all blends together. I scored it with a pizza cutter before it completely cooled, making later cutting easier. I cut them into diamond shapes and placed a sliced almond on each after glazing. They look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States