Lebanese-Style Tabouli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Well this seems tasty but my husband is Lebanese didn't like any of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
i made it pretty much as is, only change was i used only green onions. i love the lemony flavor. dont mind the cinnamon. but as one person said maybe all spice would be a better choice. i am not tabouli expert but i thought it was tasty. i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I found this to be overwhelmingly lemon-y with very strong onion taste as published. Also, I just soak the bulgur in cold water for longer. Doing a short soak in hot water makes it gummy. I put it in a pan and cover it with cold water. I strain it all and add fresh water in a few hours, and then let it all soak for several hours. I usually leave mine in a pot on the counter overnight. With the following modifications, this came out pretty good. -NO cinnamon. When I'm ready to mix everything, I put all of the parsley and mint in the bowl first. That way, as I add ingredients, I can do taste-tests and check for consistency. -I start with 1/8 cup of olive oil and add more if needed. I start with 1/8 cup of lemon juice. I used flat leaf parsley, and added an extra bunch. - One onion was sufficient and didn't overpower the other flavors. It was a subtle. Two onions will be very bold. Thank you Rabie for adding this original recipe. It's a great one we can build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added red and green pepper and garlic infused pure olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Tried it and it was soo good. Put more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I am lebanese and we do not put cinnamon in tabouli. I have never heard of that in my life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I didn't enjoy this recipe as written; there was just too much lemon juice, oil, and tomato included and the cinnamon flavor was all wrong. I substituted half of a large cucumber for two of the tomatoes, substituted green onions for a milder onion flavor, only used the juice of one lemon and only 1 Tablespoon of olive oil; I also used ground allspice instead of cinnamon and I added one clove of garlic and in the future may use two or three. This recipe is much too watery as written, even if the bulgur is drained after cooking, which it should be. With my modifications I would give this a rating of four; it's still not the best tabouli I've ever had, but it's good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make! Definitely going to be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
WE used this as a base and made one with all of the ingrediants except the cinamon and the bulgar. We used quinoa. We love the texture so much better than the bulgar wheat - and we can serve it to our friends who are not able to eat wheat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
forget the cinnamon (not a good match with the parsley)...try 4 or 5 green onions instead of regular onions for a milder taste. Sumac is a nice lemon-flavoured spice that I like to add (amount depends on your liking- 1 tsp is enough for me). Also, I like my bulgur to have some crunch, so I only soak it in warm water for 10 minutes or so. Serve with romaine lettuce for an authentic side to barbecue chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States