Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
My husband ate most of the soup in one evening. I happened to make it on a cold, rainy day, so it was very comforting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Oh boy this is good and EASY! I used brown lentils instead of red (don't think it really matters) and I increased the cumin and the lemon juice during pureeing until I was happy with the flavour - no real science behind it. Also added extra broth because after pureeing I found the soup to be too thick. Instead of cayenne I used home-made chili powder that I made from chilis I grew in my garden. We don't use cilantro in my household so I substituted with parsley, which in my opinion is more traditionally middle eastern. Sounds like I deviated a lot but really I didn't, just tweaked here and there to my liking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love lentil soup. But not this one. The lemon juice is overpowering, and I don't care for the cumin in this soup. I will not make this again, but stick with the excellent Greek Lentil Soup recipe that I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My family and I love this recipe.It reminds me of the food I had in Syria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wanderinggypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rich
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used a lot more garlic, a lot more cumin, added orange bell pepper, and ground turkey... Phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Love, love this soup it's been a staple in my house for a few years now. I make it exactly like it says and don't forget the lemon. I also add fresh spinach, kale and sausage links when I need more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I loved this! My family hated it. Because of that I had to give it 3 stars. Definitely add the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I forgot to mention in my previous review that I did not include the cilantro since I do not like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I didnt do a pound of lentils (just enough for me) and I used a pressure cooker and added some chicken sausage and left out the cayenne (and forgot the lemon) and used fenugreek leaves instead. It was more like a chicken dal and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Is quick and easy but I'd omit the cayenne next time. It makes the soup the wrong color, too brownish rather than yellowish. I also put it into the Vitamix and it became too smooth. I like to see some texture of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States