Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I loved this! My family hated it. Because of that I had to give it 3 stars. Definitely add the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I forgot to mention in my previous review that I did not include the cilantro since I do not like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I didnt do a pound of lentils (just enough for me) and I used a pressure cooker and added some chicken sausage and left out the cayenne (and forgot the lemon) and used fenugreek leaves instead. It was more like a chicken dal and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Is quick and easy but I'd omit the cayenne next time. It makes the soup the wrong color, too brownish rather than yellowish. I also put it into the Vitamix and it became too smooth. I like to see some texture of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Thank you! I've been looking for a recipe like my Syrian family makes and this is exactly what I have been looking for! I also throw in a small handful of rice along with the lentils if I'm having it as dinner instead of an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
L-O-V--E. This was fast, easy, and delicious. I have to admit, I used bottled lemon juice since I didn't have fresh, but I can only imagine it would be even better with fresh! As a note, 1 lb of lentils equals about 2 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and so simple. I just love it, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just made this soup! I added grates carrots and doubled the cumin. Used one pot first to sauté the veggies then set the in a plate to cook the lentils. I used the cayenne because...we like spicey. I used my submersion blender but only buzzed my soup a little to keep some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a delicious and refreshing recipe. I followed Ahmad Ghosheh's advice and forwent the cayenne pepper in favor of black pepper. I was looking for a lentil soup recipe that would mimic my MIL's (she's Egyptian and I LOVE her cooking), and while this didn't taste the same, it was a great alternative soup. Definitely had that delicious middle eastern tangy/savory flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLYNNZIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This soup is incredibly flavorful, much more so than I expected it to be. The only changes I made were to cook the onions and garlic in a large pot, add the spices to the onions, and then add the lentils and broth to that pot, in order to save the flavors and juices from the onions and garlic. I also threw in half a cup of bulgur to the lentils and broth in order to add a little more protein and fiber. I did not puree the soup. The soup is good with or without the lemon juice. Without the lemon juice, you get more of the cumin flavor. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States