Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love lentil soup. But not this one. The lemon juice is overpowering, and I don't care for the cumin in this soup. I will not make this again, but stick with the excellent Greek Lentil Soup recipe that I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My family and I love this recipe.It reminds me of the food I had in Syria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wanderinggypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rich
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used a lot more garlic, a lot more cumin, added orange bell pepper, and ground turkey... Phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Love, love this soup it's been a staple in my house for a few years now. I make it exactly like it says and don't forget the lemon. I also add fresh spinach, kale and sausage links when I need more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I loved this! My family hated it. Because of that I had to give it 3 stars. Definitely add the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I forgot to mention in my previous review that I did not include the cilantro since I do not like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I didnt do a pound of lentils (just enough for me) and I used a pressure cooker and added some chicken sausage and left out the cayenne (and forgot the lemon) and used fenugreek leaves instead. It was more like a chicken dal and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Is quick and easy but I'd omit the cayenne next time. It makes the soup the wrong color, too brownish rather than yellowish. I also put it into the Vitamix and it became too smooth. I like to see some texture of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Nash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Thank you! I've been looking for a recipe like my Syrian family makes and this is exactly what I have been looking for! I also throw in a small handful of rice along with the lentils if I'm having it as dinner instead of an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
L-O-V--E. This was fast, easy, and delicious. I have to admit, I used bottled lemon juice since I didn't have fresh, but I can only imagine it would be even better with fresh! As a note, 1 lb of lentils equals about 2 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States