Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good. I am a Palestinian and we cook this all the time. I double the Cumin. and get rid of the cayenne pepper and use regular pepper. Also no need to puree, if you leave the soup on low heat for 15 to 20 minutes the lintels will dissolve completely. I add the onions last because I like the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahmad Ghosheh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This soup is delicious. I did alter it a little. If you saute onions, garlic, celery and carrots and add them at the end, it makes it that much better. Then I let it simmer a while longer until the vegetables were soft. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I really like this recipe..and after I "Owned" it, I liked it evern more!! First of all, not everyone can deal with spicy..no worries about eliminating the Cayenne Pepper, lemon pepper is so much better! I also absolutely love the texture of the lentils in this soup, so blending them and ommitting the reason this soup is so good feels wrong, I instead sauteed the onions with carrots and garlice, and pureed them and added them to the soup. I also browned some chicken breast bits and threw them in as well. Doubled the cumin and omitted the cilantro. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This soup is fantastic. It tastes just like what I enjoy from our local Mid-Eastern restaurant. I highly recommend using lemon juice or a wedge of lemon for a garnish. My personal preference is to serve the soup with a little long-grain rice like Basmati or Jasmine, fresh cilantro and a dollop of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have been looking for a traditional middle-eastern lentil soup for ages, and this one is PERFECT! I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth to make the recipe vegetarian. 2 cups of red lentils worked well for me with 6 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup is super quick and easy. We usually serve this with hot naan and sometimes over basmati rice. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I loved this recipe. I cut the portions in half for a single persons portion. I minced the onion and garlic very small and added them to cook for about 15-20 minutes longer. Because I cooked the lentils longer and stirred frequently, I chose not to blend and get more texture. I used store bought lemon juice and only used about half of what the recipe called for. No time for fresh cilantro, so I added coriander for the minty flavor and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the reviews are a little overrated, since I felt the lemon was quite overpowering. The soup is very different before and after the lemon is added. One should add it gradually, to taste, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
i am Lebanese,and this is my first time cooking red lentil soup i just made today and loved it so much it's going to be on my dinner table at least ounce a week i added black pepper,and dry cilantro to the onion and garlic it was so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Delicious. I used brown lentils (that was all I had). Cooked as directed, did not puree/blend at the end. So lemony and fresh tasting! Would be wonderful with chicken in it, but is great on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States