Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasty and healthy! I made a few modifications to taste...Added an additional cup of stock because I cooked the lentils for longer time on a low simmer. Also added 2 stalks chopped celery and 2 chopped carrots to the stock/lentils for additional veggies and flavor. Upon tasting, I added 1T thyme, 1T oregano, and about 2T of vinegar for some bite. Family inhaled it with crusty bread and we had enough left over to freeze for a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
this was absolutely wonderful -- a new family favorite for sure. Added more veggies than recipe calls for, mostly out of habit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "T" and I found that the soup was way too thick, almost a pastey texture. When I served it I had to dilute it with alot of water. Other than that the taste was okay. I won't be making this again as I have better lentil soup recipes in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
OMG this is sooooooo good. Just like the Lebanese restaurant in my neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACOFICHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Oh my goodness was this good. My Egyptian husband says that this is a dish the Orthodox Christians eat during fasting season. He said it was better than his mother's. Followed the recipe to a t--but next time will add more lemon. The pepper was so mild I fed it to the 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
trying to eat vegan meals. didn't have cilantro, but still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This soup is divine! I made it vegan by using veggie stock instead of chicken. My red lentil fell apart in the pot, so their was no need to blend anything in the end. I did have to add more water to keep the lentil from clumping up, and to make it more soupy. I had no cilantro, so I added a dash of coriander instead. This soup is very flavorful and nutritious. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Absolutely Amazing! Tastes like something from a restaurant! I doubled the cumin and substituted black pepper for cayenne. Also added 1 large cut up carrot to the veg mix. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Love the soup, reminds me of Dahl (Indian cuisine). I added 1 Jalapeno pepper as I like a little heat, 1/2 red pepper, 4 carrots and mixed in curry as well as cumin. I used 4 cups (2 cans) of broth and 2C of water in place of the 6C. Also used 2T of olive oil instead of 3T. Great recipe-- very adaptable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I did not used as much lemon juice and still tasted very sour. I might make it next time without the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapmezciems, Tukums, Latvia
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States