Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Oh my goodness was this good. My Egyptian husband says that this is a dish the Orthodox Christians eat during fasting season. He said it was better than his mother's. Followed the recipe to a t--but next time will add more lemon. The pepper was so mild I fed it to the 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
trying to eat vegan meals. didn't have cilantro, but still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This soup is divine! I made it vegan by using veggie stock instead of chicken. My red lentil fell apart in the pot, so their was no need to blend anything in the end. I did have to add more water to keep the lentil from clumping up, and to make it more soupy. I had no cilantro, so I added a dash of coriander instead. This soup is very flavorful and nutritious. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Absolutely Amazing! Tastes like something from a restaurant! I doubled the cumin and substituted black pepper for cayenne. Also added 1 large cut up carrot to the veg mix. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Love the soup, reminds me of Dahl (Indian cuisine). I added 1 Jalapeno pepper as I like a little heat, 1/2 red pepper, 4 carrots and mixed in curry as well as cumin. I used 4 cups (2 cans) of broth and 2C of water in place of the 6C. Also used 2T of olive oil instead of 3T. Great recipe-- very adaptable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I did not used as much lemon juice and still tasted very sour. I might make it next time without the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapmezciems, Tukums, Latvia
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I love this dish, I usually cook it differently ...I am interested in trying it this way....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I needed to add extra chicken stock as this dried up pretty fast while simmering...the ratio was closer to 1 cup lentils to 4 cups broth. I added the cumin to cook with the onion/garlic to get it in a bit earlier and also left out the cayenne and cilantro. Great soup and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I loved the flavor components and the texture of this soup. It is also a really easy dish to make. I doubled on the cumin, cayenne pepper and fresh cilantro, and I added a bit of curry paste to it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I debated between 3 stars and 4 stars because as is, it overwhelmed my taste buds a bit. Ultimately I chose 4 because I think I can easily make it into a truly enjoyable recipe. I made the recipe pretty much as stated, except the store here only carries the standard brown lentils. I also followed the advice of increasing the cumin, used 1 1/2 tbsp rather than 1. When I ate it, all I could really taste was the lemon. I could tell there were other flavors there, but the lemon was very over-powering (and I do like lemon). It's a very strongly flavored soup and needs something to cut it. One reviewer suggested serving it with a long grain rice (e.g. basmati), and I think I will try that tomorrow night. In future, I may do 2 tbsp of cumin and will definitely add only 1/2 cup of lemon juice and taste it before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States