Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Since this was last reviewed in '08 I thought I would just add a note that this recipe still holds up in 2011. I had only a handful of red lentils, so I made a very small batch and estimated the seasonings. Delicious. I didn't get the color shown in the picture but the flavor was terrific. So quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
great recipe on its own but also open for modification. I made with diced carrots with red onions (will try white onions next time for softer flavour), scallions towards the end and extra cracked pepper! so delicious and soothing on a cold day! EDIT: I tried green lentils yesterday but had trouble getting them to the pulpy/melting consistency of the red lentils. Stirred in some canned corn, ground coriander and fresh coriander to garnish. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love it. We boost the spices a bit as we like a little more heat, but a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Silverman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow - surprisingly good -- like split pea but lighter and no need for the ham fat. I didn't follow the recipe exactly -- I cooked the lentils in chicken broth -- I think a 30 minute simmer is too long -- then sauteed onion, carrot & celery in plenty of olive oil. Added the cumin (twice as much), some salt & pepper to the mix, then lastly added the garlic to saute. Threw all of that in the lentils and added lemon juice from a jar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I didn't puree, just kept it simmering for a while. Also added carrot and 2 stalks of celery. I loved it. Husband said it was good. 2 year old did not like. Too sandy tasting for her, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I added sweet potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms. The spices were perfect and with the additions I made, the texture was wonderfully "stick to your ribs!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So tasty! I didn't have cilantro, so used about 1 tsp of coriander, and only added a couple tablespoons of lemon juice, as my husband doesn't like lemon flavored things. This is a really easy and delicious recipe. For those who have made this with green lentils, really try to find red ones... they cook quickly and become so creamy. Definitely a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Tastes like Schwarma in a bowl! Yummy! I followed this recipe exactly except I added one chicken breast. It could stand on its own though without the chicken. Add the lemon! It sounds strange but it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup is incredible, smooth (didnt need to mash the lentils) and very tasty. I dont believe in meassuring things (unless ur baking) so I liberally added incredients to my liking. Lots of cumin and cilantro, also used pork bones and half a habanero. The lemon juice is definetly needed, I kept feeling like the soup was missing somethings until I added the lemon juice. It was perfect, one of the best lentil soup I have ever had. thanks for a delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasty and healthy! I made a few modifications to taste...Added an additional cup of stock because I cooked the lentils for longer time on a low simmer. Also added 2 stalks chopped celery and 2 chopped carrots to the stock/lentils for additional veggies and flavor. Upon tasting, I added 1T thyme, 1T oregano, and about 2T of vinegar for some bite. Family inhaled it with crusty bread and we had enough left over to freeze for a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States