Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Since this was last reviewed in '08 I thought I would just add a note that this recipe still holds up in 2011. I had only a handful of red lentils, so I made a very small batch and estimated the seasonings. Delicious. I didn't get the color shown in the picture but the flavor was terrific. So quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
great recipe on its own but also open for modification. I made with diced carrots with red onions (will try white onions next time for softer flavour), scallions towards the end and extra cracked pepper! so delicious and soothing on a cold day! EDIT: I tried green lentils yesterday but had trouble getting them to the pulpy/melting consistency of the red lentils. Stirred in some canned corn, ground coriander and fresh coriander to garnish. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love it. We boost the spices a bit as we like a little more heat, but a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Silverman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow - surprisingly good -- like split pea but lighter and no need for the ham fat. I didn't follow the recipe exactly -- I cooked the lentils in chicken broth -- I think a 30 minute simmer is too long -- then sauteed onion, carrot & celery in plenty of olive oil. Added the cumin (twice as much), some salt & pepper to the mix, then lastly added the garlic to saute. Threw all of that in the lentils and added lemon juice from a jar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I didn't puree, just kept it simmering for a while. Also added carrot and 2 stalks of celery. I loved it. Husband said it was good. 2 year old did not like. Too sandy tasting for her, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I added sweet potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms. The spices were perfect and with the additions I made, the texture was wonderfully "stick to your ribs!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So tasty! I didn't have cilantro, so used about 1 tsp of coriander, and only added a couple tablespoons of lemon juice, as my husband doesn't like lemon flavored things. This is a really easy and delicious recipe. For those who have made this with green lentils, really try to find red ones... they cook quickly and become so creamy. Definitely a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Tastes like Schwarma in a bowl! Yummy! I followed this recipe exactly except I added one chicken breast. It could stand on its own though without the chicken. Add the lemon! It sounds strange but it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup is incredible, smooth (didnt need to mash the lentils) and very tasty. I dont believe in meassuring things (unless ur baking) so I liberally added incredients to my liking. Lots of cumin and cilantro, also used pork bones and half a habanero. The lemon juice is definetly needed, I kept feeling like the soup was missing somethings until I added the lemon juice. It was perfect, one of the best lentil soup I have ever had. thanks for a delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasty and healthy! I made a few modifications to taste...Added an additional cup of stock because I cooked the lentils for longer time on a low simmer. Also added 2 stalks chopped celery and 2 chopped carrots to the stock/lentils for additional veggies and flavor. Upon tasting, I added 1T thyme, 1T oregano, and about 2T of vinegar for some bite. Family inhaled it with crusty bread and we had enough left over to freeze for a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States