Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a big hit in our house. Reminded us alot of split pea soup with a slight kick. It has a creamy smooth consistancy and pairs well as side dish to a baked potato, sweet potato or even a ham sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Easy and good. Added a couple sticks of celery too, and had folks add their own lemon and cilantro. A keeper and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
After reading everyone's reviews, I realized just how versatile & forgiving this recipe is...use what you have & don't worry about what you don't! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. Added some sliced carrots and celery as I sauteed the onion and garlic (if you get a bit of browning on the veggies it brings out more flavor). I reduced the cumin to less than half of what's called for, and added dried thyme & ground coriander (sorry, I didn't measure...just a good shake into the palm of my hand). Fresh tomatoes cut into chunks & added at the finish are wonderful...along with a bit of coarse sea salt. Sadly, the cilantro I had on hand wasn't the freshest, so I decided not to use it...also left out the lemon juice...but will try both next time. This has just enough heat to not be overwhelming; this comes from someone who doesn't like hot, spicy food...in fact my husband was surprised that I was enjoying it, since the heat was just right for him :) Thanks for this recipe...it's found a permanent home in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Had wanted to replicate a Lebanese Lentil soup from a nearby restaurant. This is even better! I didn't use the cayenne, used vegetable stock instead of chicken (as we're vegetarians) and used parsley instead of cilantro. DELISH! The lemon juice and cumin MAKE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
yum-my! I add spinach (frozen package) too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This has been a favorite in our family for some time - we dont use cilantro we use middle eastern mixed spices, garlic, pepper and lemon. for added flavor you can add some carrots and potatoes to the soup and blend right along with the lentils. Everyone from Grandma - right down to my kids love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the reviews are a little overrated, since I felt the lemon was quite overpowering. The soup is very different before and after the lemon is added. One should add it gradually, to taste, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I cooked up the onion and some red peppers in some olive oil and once everything was cooked I pureed it all. Next time I'll add more stock as it came out too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious! I only added a tiny bit of salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I used less cumin and cinnamon than called for. This soup is a 5 star soup. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCOX

Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States