Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Really yummy, and pretty easy, especially if you skip the blender, which is unnecessary. Next time I will try a little less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shansen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was really delicious up until I added the lemon juice, it was way too much for me and drowned out all of the other flavors. Doubling the cumin helped. Next time I would only put a tiny bit of lemon, otherwise it was really delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe was a great starting point for me to build upon, My daughter is a vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and I added cubed potatoes, diced carrots and threw in a can of pinto beans. Awesome, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good and easy! Followed recipe almost exactly, just subbed fresh parsley for the cilantro. I added lemon juice. I actually tried a taste w no lemon juice, then one with the fake lemon juice (didn't do a thing), then the fresh lemon. Definitely use fresh lemon! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
very good but excellent for our taste preference with few changes others mentioned. First we added sauted onion, celery, carrot and quartered grape tomatoes at the end and stirred them in to maintain some crunchy texture. We also added 1 1/2-2 x cumin and extra hot Hungarian paprika, again our pref for spicy things. Per others rec to 1/2 the fresh lemon juice and add to taste worked for us and we stopped at 1/4-1/3c. Thanks for great recipe as with all recipes, they have to be tweaked to everyone's own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
So delicious! I loved the lemon flavor and I think this will be in my regular winter rotation. I added some small star pasta that I had on hand to make it a little more of a complete meal. I think next time I might add some chopped celery and carrot too. I decided not to blend it just due to personal preference. I found that 2 1/2 lemons gave me the juice I needed. Also, 1 lb of lentils was about 2 1/2 C. I did have to add about a quart of water because it got pretty thick as the lentils boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I LOVED this soup. I added a couple teaspoons of turmeric and didn't bother puréeing, but otherwise followed the recipe almost exactly. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I loved it and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Delish! I used Split red lentils - so they cooked a little faster. Also, did everything right in the stock pot. Sauteed onion, garlic, 2 carrots and 2 celery stalks in olive oil. Then added stock (used 2 boxes = 8 cups) and then added rinsed lentils. cooked everything until tender. Then, did a quick whir with the immersion blender. Added less lemon juice. Fast, easy, inexpensive and healthy. A winner! PS: Could also be served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States