Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Delicious! I added carrots to the onions/garlic, puréed only this mixture after sautéing. Cut cayenne in half and added 1t of salt to lentils. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great base recipe. Had to make some changes. First, I used vegetable broth (going vegan) in place of the chicken broth. After simmering for 20 minutes, I noticed the soup was way too thick so I added the rest of my broth (I used a total of 64 oz. of broth) and it was still very thick so I added some water (maybe 2 more cups). PERFECT! I let it simmer some more while I finished the rest of the prep. We felt it was a little bland so we added a lot more cumin - sorry, didn't measure, just kept adding until we liked it. Left out the cayenne pepper and used white pepper instead. Didn't have any cilantro but we are never served cilantro when we order from our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant so it was no biggie. I also doubled the lemon juice. Juiced a couple lemons with my juicer, strained out the pulp and threw it in the pot. Personally, I could have used more lemon, but I figured I better stop otherwise it would be called lemon soup. It cooked for maybe an hour or so and OMG! You didn't even need to puree it. It pureed itself while cooking and was perfectly delicious!! Thanks for posting. I now have a recipe my husband actually likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I really liked this. I dry-roasted the spices in a pan before adding them, just to release a bit more flavour. Also, I'd add the lemon juice to taste, as the lemons we get here in my neck of the woods are very acidic/bitter - I'd go gradually! Wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good soup! While the lentils simmered, I dry-toasted the spices (double cumin + crushed coriander and smoky chipotle paprika), then added the oil, onion, and garlic. When the lentils were nearly soft (20 mins?), I added cubed carrot and sweet potato for about 15 mins, then leftover chicken at the end, and served over couscous. Next time, I'd add a dried dundicut pepper to the simmer time to add a bit of overall heat and flavor. Also needed salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My boys loved it! Followed other suggestions by doubling the cumin and black pepper. Threw a pat of butter into the bowl before adding the soup to make it richer for my kids. Added a sprinkle of ground sumac on top to give it that extra authentic flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Wow this was so simple but so good! I added the lemon to taste and ended up adding just over 1/4 cup. I did use the immersion blender but you could certainly get away w/out it if you diced the onion small enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Really yummy, and pretty easy, especially if you skip the blender, which is unnecessary. Next time I will try a little less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shansen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was really delicious up until I added the lemon juice, it was way too much for me and drowned out all of the other flavors. Doubling the cumin helped. Next time I would only put a tiny bit of lemon, otherwise it was really delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe was a great starting point for me to build upon, My daughter is a vegetarian so I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and I added cubed potatoes, diced carrots and threw in a can of pinto beans. Awesome, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States