Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Red lentil soup is awesome. If you haven't had it, try it. Omit the cayenne though. You might want to add a bit more cumin. I also omitted cilantro (imo, it tastes like soap). I used vegetable broth in order to make this vegetarian. Also, if you cook this a little longer, pureeing the soup is unnecessary -- red lentils will quickly dissolve on their own with no assistance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
What a fantastic recipe! Thank you SO MUCH. I agree with some posters about the Cayenne pepper though - whilst I like spicy and did eat ALL of it, my Hubby and kids couldn't eat it - too spicy. So next time I might try just a bit of fresh cracked pepper. Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I've made this soup many, many times now. I love it. My friends love it. I made it for a friend who was recovering from heart surgery and he not only loved it, but asked for the recipe and now makes it himself. I usually skip the cayenne pepper, as I'm a cumin fiend! I also don't puree this soup, as I think the texture is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great flavor; halved the recipe; found it a bit too thick; will add more liquid next time. Second time I made it: Made fresh veggie stock; 1 c lentils, 1 TBSP cumin, no cayenne, baby spinach, TBSP lemon juice (bottled) - not 3/4c and Matouk's hot sauce (1/8 tsp) at end after pureeing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Well done as a base starter. As per suggested, I doubled+ the cumin to get it closer to the Lentil soup that I'm served at a local Indian restaurant as that is what first hooked me! I also used vegetable broth as that is what I had in stock. I did saute 2 celery stalks and 2 carrots with the onion and put 4 cloves of garlic- I can never have too much garlic. I let simmer for about 30 minutes, then added the sauteed vegetables and let simmer for another 45minutes to an hour, until the carrots were completely soft. I used the immersion blender to puree and wow. Wonderful. I add cilantro/lemon squirt only when served and not in the entire soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Delicious! I added carrots to the onions/garlic, puréed only this mixture after sautéing. Cut cayenne in half and added 1t of salt to lentils. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great base recipe. Had to make some changes. First, I used vegetable broth (going vegan) in place of the chicken broth. After simmering for 20 minutes, I noticed the soup was way too thick so I added the rest of my broth (I used a total of 64 oz. of broth) and it was still very thick so I added some water (maybe 2 more cups). PERFECT! I let it simmer some more while I finished the rest of the prep. We felt it was a little bland so we added a lot more cumin - sorry, didn't measure, just kept adding until we liked it. Left out the cayenne pepper and used white pepper instead. Didn't have any cilantro but we are never served cilantro when we order from our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant so it was no biggie. I also doubled the lemon juice. Juiced a couple lemons with my juicer, strained out the pulp and threw it in the pot. Personally, I could have used more lemon, but I figured I better stop otherwise it would be called lemon soup. It cooked for maybe an hour or so and OMG! You didn't even need to puree it. It pureed itself while cooking and was perfectly delicious!! Thanks for posting. I now have a recipe my husband actually likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I really liked this. I dry-roasted the spices in a pan before adding them, just to release a bit more flavour. Also, I'd add the lemon juice to taste, as the lemons we get here in my neck of the woods are very acidic/bitter - I'd go gradually! Wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good soup! While the lentils simmered, I dry-toasted the spices (double cumin + crushed coriander and smoky chipotle paprika), then added the oil, onion, and garlic. When the lentils were nearly soft (20 mins?), I added cubed carrot and sweet potato for about 15 mins, then leftover chicken at the end, and served over couscous. Next time, I'd add a dried dundicut pepper to the simmer time to add a bit of overall heat and flavor. Also needed salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My boys loved it! Followed other suggestions by doubling the cumin and black pepper. Threw a pat of butter into the bowl before adding the soup to make it richer for my kids. Added a sprinkle of ground sumac on top to give it that extra authentic flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States