Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Thank you! I've been looking for a recipe like my Syrian family makes and this is exactly what I have been looking for! I also throw in a small handful of rice along with the lentils if I'm having it as dinner instead of an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
L-O-V--E. This was fast, easy, and delicious. I have to admit, I used bottled lemon juice since I didn't have fresh, but I can only imagine it would be even better with fresh! As a note, 1 lb of lentils equals about 2 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and so simple. I just love it, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just made this soup! I added grates carrots and doubled the cumin. Used one pot first to sauté the veggies then set the in a plate to cook the lentils. I used the cayenne because...we like spicey. I used my submersion blender but only buzzed my soup a little to keep some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a delicious and refreshing recipe. I followed Ahmad Ghosheh's advice and forwent the cayenne pepper in favor of black pepper. I was looking for a lentil soup recipe that would mimic my MIL's (she's Egyptian and I LOVE her cooking), and while this didn't taste the same, it was a great alternative soup. Definitely had that delicious middle eastern tangy/savory flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLYNNZIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This soup is incredibly flavorful, much more so than I expected it to be. The only changes I made were to cook the onions and garlic in a large pot, add the spices to the onions, and then add the lentils and broth to that pot, in order to save the flavors and juices from the onions and garlic. I also threw in half a cup of bulgur to the lentils and broth in order to add a little more protein and fiber. I did not puree the soup. The soup is good with or without the lemon juice. Without the lemon juice, you get more of the cumin flavor. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Exact same soup I grew up with and wow! I had missed this soup so much. This is tasty stuff. My only suggestion is don't add all the lemon juice at once. Add some and taste. I use a lot less lemon juice but this may be personal taste. Thanks JENP1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good, very very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I agree with Amahad about the cayenne and cumin. But I use fresh tomatoes while simmering and do purée. My ex Mother-in-law is Egyptian and she taught me her way. She sauté some tiny noodles in butter and adds after it purée 's just to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I saw no reason to cook the onions and garlic separate...I sautéed them first and added the spices, broth and lentils. I used about 1/3 c lemon juice at the end and a liberal amount of cilantro. This soup is excellent. It Is also attractive and I would not hesitate to serve this to company. Thanks, JENP1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States