Lebanese Rubbed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a great salad! However, I believe the dressing ratios are incorrect. I tried it with 50/50 vinegar to olive oil and would have gagged on vinegar. The olive oil amount has to be doubled in the recipe! Then, it truely is perfect in my opinion. I used leaf lettuce, roma tomatoes, and an English cucumber. I also did about 1/2 the recipe and it did not seem to be a problem. Other than that, I followed the recipe except I didn't add any black pepper because I don't care for it. After we started eating it I realized I forgot to add the garlic! Either way, it was tasty so I guess it was a fine mistake. Plus, I didn't have to worry about garlic breath after dinner. Great simple salad. Try it, just remember to double the olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is such a great idea! I've "rubbed" many salads since I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
The rubbing business didn't make sense to me; the recipe is excellent without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and my favorite salad! We make it with spinach and I do think the rubbing makes the salad even better. We make this salad several times a week. Sometimes I substitute sun-dried tomatoes if I'm out of fresh tomatoes. Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Great salad BUT I found it a little bland. I added 2 tbsp of lemon juice and that took care of it. Also a few extra garlic cloves. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Great simple and fast salad but, I added a little more garlic and a lot of fresh cracked pepper. It was definitely fun to "rub" it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
excellent, my husband and i were licking our plates when the salad was all gone! I also did not "rub" the lettuce. I marinated everything except the lettuce for a few hours then poured it over the top of the lettuce as you would a dressing. I would also add that crumbled baked pita chips on top for "croutons" are an amazing addition to this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Loved it! Perfect as is and doesn't need anything else....expect maybe double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron-Dawg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanger, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
this was a fabulous salad that the entire family enjoyed. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We love this salad. In the summer I serve it with grilled chicken or steak and in the winter with a warm soup. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States