Lebanese Lemon Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband is always chiding me for using too much lemon in some dishes. I was expecting more of the same from him so I made this dressing and served it on the side. My mouth dropped open when he told me that I will be making this dressing anytime I serve salad from now on. This man is a die hard ranch dressing person. This is a huge compliment to the author. I loved the dressing too. Fresh squeezed lemons are a must. DON'T USE BOTTLED LEMON JUICE! FRESH LEMONS ONLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I've never been inspired to write a review for a recipe, but this one did it!! It's flavors are bright, clean, and enlivens any garden salad. Since I grow my own veggies, I'm very selective about what I dress them with, and this recipe, BY FAR, is worthy of my home-grown food. Easy, tasty, not to tart, not too oily. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My family had this at a friends cookout. It is so good. The salad had pita bread she had baked up(you could crisp them on the grill instead). She put romaine and every veggie she had in it. Everyone loved it. Next we will add meat and make it the entree. Her family called the salad "la tush".?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I was suprised to see this recipe on here! My (HUGE) lebanese family has been making this dressing every sunday since before I was born! There is no dressing that can compare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
With summer here and this recipe being more popular during this season, I wanted to make sure I reminded cooks this is a very tangy recipe and you have to like that flavor to like this dressing. The lemon juice replaces standard vinegar for that flavor. Always use FRESH lemon juice and of course you can adjust to taste. However, even though I appreciate innovation, this dressing is generally NOT recommended for slaws, potato salads etc. It is the best on a green salad with plenty of other flavors to mingle with such as tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, etc. Also, I indicated it is great for salads containing grilled meats and feta cheese is also awesome. In other words, the tangy, garlicky factor nicely compliments other flavors. I hope this helps and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a very wonderful dressing, just as the recipe calls for.... a older woman told me a long time ago ... when I was tring to learn how to cook..she said,.... a little sugar makes everything better and gave me a wink !! and a smile.. I put my own twist on this with two tablespoons of sugar in this wonder recipe just as you think it could not get better, POW ..the sugar makes it more better. love this dressing both ways... Jewel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluefield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Light and refreshing. Just right for those like myself who don't like tart, tangy, heavy, sweet, balsamic-type dressings that drown the greens they're meant to merely enhance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I add a few slices of avocado to make it a creamy dressing and honey too sweeten it. This is a great dressing either way.Sometimes I split the lemon juice with Bragg's apple cider vinegar and it still come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This dressing was WAAYYY too lemony for me! Maybe it was the lemons from my tree, but it made my mouth pucker it was so tart. I have had a wonderful lemon and olive oil dressing before, but it was very light and subtle. Any recommendations from the readers as to how to adapt this recipe to suit a subtler taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
for anyone who thinks that this recipe is to tangy or acidic try this take 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, to 3/4 cup mild olive oil or you can cut extra virgin olive oil with veg/canola oil 50/50 with 3-4 cloves garlic and kosher salt and pepper to taste. Most salad dressing have a 3-1 ratio much more pleasant on the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States