Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marmouche
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My all time favorite lentil soup, it reminds me of the one my lebanese roommate shared back in College days (when her mom made it)! This time I also threw in some cube tomatoes, some potatoes (leftover and already boiled) and at the last minute a big handfull of chopped black kale. Delicious! The lemon really makes all the difference too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this as written with the exception of using less flour/butter as many others suggested. Great combination of flavors. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great flavor, but as another reviewer mentioned the flour/butter ratio is way off. I knew it would be, however, I followed the directions. I soon saw I would have nothing but a fried dough ball if I followed this recipe, so I successfully whisked in more fat. You'll have to use at least 1/3 - 1/2 cup fat for that amount of flour (or reduce flour). Also, I used the right amount of lentils and water, but this did not come out as a soup or stew. It was so thick it was more like a lentil side dish. I usually use more like 8 cups of water, at least for lentil soups. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I didn't follow the proportions exactly (the more carrots the merrier!) and I added some potatoes I had lying around, but the soup turned out fantastic! Absolutely scrumptious! Also, I didn't do the optional flour/butter thing. It seemed unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Delicious used brown lentils and substituted celery seed for the celery.I only used 1/2 c of flour. Served with warm pita bread and fresh sliced lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stick is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettfox

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by Ebbergine
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this mostly to the recipe, except that I used less than 1 cup of flour after reading other reviews. I used about a quarter cup and toasted it in a dry pan as another review recommended, then added in about 2.5 T of butter to make a thin paste. It added a layer of richness to the flavor. We had it for shabbat with challah and wine and it was very flavorful and satisfying. The French lentils hold their shape nicely and make an attractive thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So delicious, I've made this recipe many time but I use chicken broth, cut down on the salt to half, add 2 more cups of water (or it's really thick) and before serving I put in my immersion blender to get a soup consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've been looking for a lentil soup recipe to mimic my mother-in-law's. This is it--the spice in this is perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very tasty. I made the soup according to the recipe and enjoyed it. The lentils tend to absorb liquids, so I did have to add water every now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States