Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! I especially like the cumin in this soup. I combined this with some leftover butternut squash soup, and it was amazing -- so you could very easily add squash to it for extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brinmobile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I cut the cayenne in half and was very glad I did. You could actually cut it even further. I also added an extra cup or so of water and ran it through the ninja blender because I like my lentil soup that way. Other than that, 100% perfect as written. I did not use the optional butter and flour. This is a very flavorful, satisfying soup that just happens to be both very healthy and vegan. This is going right into the frequently used recipes file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious and hearty. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Resneck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great soup! I added a little more water. The butter and flour mixture made it nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made my own chicken stock beforehand, which probably made a difference. Recycled the celery from the stock for the soup, but left out carrots from the recipe to fit my personal tastes a little better. I didn't have parsley, so I'll have to use it next time. If you do the optional flour mix, you'll end up with a gruel, if you leave the flour mix out, you might want to make some rice to make the soup heartier. I only used in 2/3 of a cup of flour but about 5 tablespoons of butter for the mixture, and the soup thickened right up. The cumin and cayenne pepper are delicious, but I can't really taste the coriander. All in all delicious, hearty and a great substitute for meat dishes, especially during lent. I can't wait to make this soup for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This soup is absolutely exquisite!!! I made it for my family last night and not a single drop was left in the pot. It is hearty and very very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've been looking for a lentil soup recipe to mimic my mother-in-law's. This is it--the spice in this is perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So delicious, I've made this recipe many time but I use chicken broth, cut down on the salt to half, add 2 more cups of water (or it's really thick) and before serving I put in my immersion blender to get a soup consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ebbergine
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this mostly to the recipe, except that I used less than 1 cup of flour after reading other reviews. I used about a quarter cup and toasted it in a dry pan as another review recommended, then added in about 2.5 T of butter to make a thin paste. It added a layer of richness to the flavor. We had it for shabbat with challah and wine and it was very flavorful and satisfying. The French lentils hold their shape nicely and make an attractive thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stick is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettfox

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States