Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This soup is absolutely exquisite!!! I made it for my family last night and not a single drop was left in the pot. It is hearty and very very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Nice flavors. I used 4 cups chicken-vegetable broth in place of some of the water. I also skipped the optional flour and butter but mixed in a couple generous dollops of non-fat greek yogurt for each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is delicious, but definitely not a soup. I followed the directions exactly , using dried lentils, and after cooking for 1 hour, all the liquid had been absorbed. It makes a great side dish if you substitute chicken broth fir the water. I also did not use the butter and flour at the end, for obvious reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious and hearty. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! I especially like the cumin in this soup. I combined this with some leftover butternut squash soup, and it was amazing -- so you could very easily add squash to it for extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brinmobile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made my own chicken stock beforehand, which probably made a difference. Recycled the celery from the stock for the soup, but left out carrots from the recipe to fit my personal tastes a little better. I didn't have parsley, so I'll have to use it next time. If you do the optional flour mix, you'll end up with a gruel, if you leave the flour mix out, you might want to make some rice to make the soup heartier. I only used in 2/3 of a cup of flour but about 5 tablespoons of butter for the mixture, and the soup thickened right up. The cumin and cayenne pepper are delicious, but I can't really taste the coriander. All in all delicious, hearty and a great substitute for meat dishes, especially during lent. I can't wait to make this soup for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This soup was bland (and I even added extra cumin) and I couldn't taste the lemon flavor at all. Also, there's very little color in this. Perhaps more carrots and an addition of spinach would add some color and make the soup more visually appealing. My very adventurous twin toddlers (who love foods of all kinds and flavors--chili, hummus, curries, other lentil soups, etc.) would barely touch this soup and said, "Yuck" when they looked at it (the first time they've ever said this). They instead chewed the lemon wedges. I was really hoping to love this recipe, but I will keep searching for a lebanese lentil soup we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great soup! I added a little more water. The butter and flour mixture made it nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I cut the cayenne in half and was very glad I did. You could actually cut it even further. I also added an extra cup or so of water and ran it through the ninja blender because I like my lentil soup that way. Other than that, 100% perfect as written. I did not use the optional butter and flour. This is a very flavorful, satisfying soup that just happens to be both very healthy and vegan. This is going right into the frequently used recipes file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
The soup is very healthy and filling. I guess the flavor wasn't as much to our liking as the Lentil Soup with Lemon by Jodi. That one is delish! This one is less expensive though and still okay. I guess after the other recipe, this one didn't quite hit it with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States