Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So, overall, this is delicious. It's really hearty and rich and filling and also completely healthy. I like some heat, so I added a little more cayenne than recommended and also a tablespoon or so of sambal olek (chili paste.) However, posters saying that it's very thick (it's much more stewlike) and that the flour-to-butter measurement is off are correct. Essentially you're making a roux to go into the soup, and with a roux you generally want a 1:1 flour-butter ratio. I did about a half cup of butter and a half cup of flour and it worked out great, and came out a bit more soupy than the original recipe would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was very bland.It was very bland, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
It was very bland. I expected it to be full of flavor. I need to look for another recipe to add spices to it to make it edible. I was disappointed. It doesn't even say to use the lemons in the soup, it's more of a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My Husband and I both enjoyed this soup. I liked the lemony taste. He ate his with some crushed red pepper to add more heat. I also changed the amount of butter/flour to 2 TB each. The soup was rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marmouche
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My all time favorite lentil soup, it reminds me of the one my lebanese roommate shared back in College days (when her mom made it)! This time I also threw in some cube tomatoes, some potatoes (leftover and already boiled) and at the last minute a big handfull of chopped black kale. Delicious! The lemon really makes all the difference too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this as written with the exception of using less flour/butter as many others suggested. Great combination of flavors. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great flavor, but as another reviewer mentioned the flour/butter ratio is way off. I knew it would be, however, I followed the directions. I soon saw I would have nothing but a fried dough ball if I followed this recipe, so I successfully whisked in more fat. You'll have to use at least 1/3 - 1/2 cup fat for that amount of flour (or reduce flour). Also, I used the right amount of lentils and water, but this did not come out as a soup or stew. It was so thick it was more like a lentil side dish. I usually use more like 8 cups of water, at least for lentil soups. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I didn't follow the proportions exactly (the more carrots the merrier!) and I added some potatoes I had lying around, but the soup turned out fantastic! Absolutely scrumptious! Also, I didn't do the optional flour/butter thing. It seemed unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Delicious used brown lentils and substituted celery seed for the celery.I only used 1/2 c of flour. Served with warm pita bread and fresh sliced lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stick is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettfox

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States