Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Great all-purpose sauce. Perfect accompaniment to stuffed grape leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that duplicated the garlic sauce from Zankou chicken. This was great! Next time I might substitute 1/2 of the olive oil with canola, the sauce had a strong olive oil taste. Served with grilled chicken, lamb, tabouleh & pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Yowza! This is strong, esp if your garlic comes in large heads as mine do! I make this in much smaller proportions becuase a little goes a long way, and serve it with kofta, roti, and a cucumber/dill/yogurt sauce. It's so strong that it's spicy, and it will leave a taste of garlic for awhile. If you love garlic, you'll love this -- otherwise, beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I have been looking for this garlic recipe for a while now. I love it. A little less lemon and maybe a bit more salt. I didn't use all of the olive oil either. Great with chicken, lamb, hummus and pita. I put it on everything. The taste of garlic will be with you for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I love all lebanese foods and I love anything with garlic so for me this was out of this world. This is very garlicky so you can tone it down to your taste to maybe 4 small bulbs. Like previous reviewers, I cut down on the oil a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Although I'm giving it 4 stars, it didn't turn out for me, it was too runny, not think like it should be- but maybe I didn't do it right, I'll try it again because the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This sauce is great on everything: fish, chicken, vegetables, bread. Sometimes I cooked the meats with the sauce, other times I topped the meats with the sauce after cooking. It makes a great sandwich spread too. The only change I made was 2 cups EVOO instead of 3. Because I find EVOO to have a very strong taste, I used 1/2 C of the dark green EVOO, and 1 1/2 C light EVOO. This was a big hit with friends and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is fantastic, just like LaShish. I recomend using a blender, it did not emulsify when I used the food processor. I also use canola oil instead of EVOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very good garlic taste. I was looking for the garlic sauce that they use on shawarma which is a little thicker than this and has less lemon zing. It was too much lemon for me, so I added a bit more salt to combat the zing. Next time I'm going to try it with about half the oil and less than a quarter of the lemon juice, with salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
A little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States